Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Undermine

by TheSheep - Jam Entry

Requires Python 2.x and PyGame installed. Press m during play to mute the music.

This game was made by a team:
Code, Sounds & Graphics: Radomir Dopieralski,
Levels & Testing: Katarzyna Jachim,
Music: Lukasz Langa.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Theme(Jam)3.75
#111Fun(Jam)3.50
#164Audio(Jam)3.52
#170Innovation(Jam)3.45
#232Overall(Jam)3.42
#256Graphics(Jam)3.67
#297Humor(Jam)2.76
#313Mood(Jam)3.17
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Please create a standalone version...

I think you'll find most people will not install the dependencies, there are simply too many other games to try

TheSheep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I will, once I get my hands on some Windows box. The rules let me do that after the deadline, from what I uderstand.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

Nice! That's a fun little puzzle game. I never felt so good for having outsmarted a bunch of rocks. But you really, really need to let me start at the last level I got to. I'm not playing all the way through the first 7 levels again when I die on level 8.

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36pm

At first I thought it was just another "mine/drill game" (like mine :P) but this is actually a very interesting and sneaky puzzle :D well done!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I'd like to just restart a level when I die, but other than that this is a great puzzle concept that creates an intense mood!

robodylan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I found out this last year, you just can't use python unless you can get one of the freezers like cxfreeze to work.

peterrstanley says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I really enjoyed the game. I liked the graphics and and music was good. It was a good and fun puzzle-type game.

Ragzouken says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:40am

really great graphics, but quite frustrating to start the game again after dying!

SebastiĆ£o says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice game!

Hammervuis says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:06am

What possessed you to force a restart whenever you die? It sours the entire game experience

TheSheep says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:02pm

@hammervuis well, the levels were tested separately, so we didn't see it...

Ragzouken says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:37pm

incase you don't see this on our page (you probably won't) you get those errors probably because you're not using LOVE 0.9.1

aeveis says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:31am

ah, actually unexpected really hard puzzles! The falling on the sides really changes it up. I got up to the level after the one with the three rocks in a rock. I kind of wish there was a restart button or a level select, starting over from the beginning after I died made the game much much longer. Really nice puzzles though.

aeveis says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:31am

three rocks in a row* sorry for typo/double post.

Jiddo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Cool idea for a puzzle sort of game. Took a few tries to get fully accustomed to the mechanics and to know which situations actually cause you to die. After that it was really nice.

As previously mentioned it is annoying to play from the first level every time you die. Other than that I have no complaints.

Great job!

Almost says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:41pm

The logic for whether or not a boulder will fall sideways is really weird. If I dig underneath two boulders, they fall straight down. Then I walk around without digging anything new and the top one will fall off the side.

Almost says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:42pm

The logic for whether or not a boulder will fall sideways is really weird. If I dig underneath two boulders, they fall straight down. Then I walk around without digging anything new and the top one will fall off the side.

Restarting at the beginning instead of on the current level is also annoying.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Dig Duck right? Good job, I really like the music and the kind of "sticker book" art style: the Ludum Dare has a very typical pixel-art-y style which I love but which we see a bit too much of sometimes ;) This also proves that adding a little bouncy animation to things makes it awesome by default, I need to do more bouncy things on my games :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]