Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath

by Spouwny - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You were on a long journey throught space when... well... you know...

Sometimes, shit happens.


And now you're stuck on this hostile planetoid. Sand everywhere. And... Something strange under it.

You don't want to know what's beneath the surface of this sea of sand. You want to fly away. So keep calm and collect your lost hardware.



Control:
- click to move.

Objectives:
- collect what fell from your ship during the "landing" before you run out of oxygen.


Known issues:
- Missing intro and outro.
- Missing death animation.
- No win condition. When you collect all the boxes, nothing will happen.

But you won't win :)


Tools:
- Phaser

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Theme3.89
#260Innovation3.50
#558Fun3.00
#654Graphics3.00
#775Overall2.95
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

Pretty fun idea! fun to juke the sandworm out :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Interesting concept!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Nice one, graphics were specially good... Game is super-hard... :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Good hard game.

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Fun concept, though Im not sure about the continual movement (unless it was a bug)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Haha, I thought I was being trolled not being able to reach the items, they seemed always too far away. After realising you are meant to use the stones it was all good. Nice one!

kasarun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Like it, but give me some blaster to shoot that worm :)

Spouwny says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42am

@Covenant: Difficulty should be tweak down a little I think. But I didnt get the time to do so.

@kasarun: No blasters, sorry. It was a peaceful mission, so no blaster on board ! But you will get some useful gifts when grabbing the boxes scattered all around to ease your life in this harmful world.

@Stuffie: I don't know what you mean by "continual mouvement" ?

end3r says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Cool concept of the game, it was funny to fool the worm around ;)

xandy says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

great game idea and innovative topic interpretation :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]