Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mine

by Almost - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All input is with the mouse, and Q/Esc quit. Instructions are ingame. There is no win condition and no way to lose.


Please comment if it crashes / doesn't start / download link is broken / you liked it. The linux version was bundled by PIXEL^3.


The game is made with love2d 0.9, the sound effects are made with bfxr, and the voice is me talking into a microphone.

I reused some ui / vector math / state code from my previous ludum dare submission, but the gamelogic code is all new.
It's mentioned in this post: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/12/in-62/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#59Theme3.95
#110Overall3.77
#165Fun3.56
#221Innovation3.56
#315Mood3.28
#328Graphics3.53
#570Humor2.42
#578Audio2.74

Comments

mashedtatoes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

THIS IS AWESOME. HOW DID YOU MAKE THIS IN 2 DAYS?!?! This is like a better take on the Motherload type of game.

mashedtatoes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

Also, chrome does not trust the download. It says "LD29.zip is not commonly downloaded and could be dangerous."

nhmllr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

Whoa, this is incredible. I am a little confused by what exactly I'm doing to get the character to drop bombs, attach hooks to areas or drop torches. I also can't find out how to escape the window without closing the game in the process... But generally, it plays really well and the graphics are great. I am thoroughly impressed at how you managed to make this in such a short time period.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

Ummm, any clue why this happens? http://puu.sh/8qz0h.png
I've just recently played another Love2D game, but this one doesn't seem to work for me.
I'll try it later on another PC.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

Makes me think of Dwarf Fortress & Terraria!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

This is amazing, although probably more of a toy than a game. :)

If you intend to continue on this, please add some goals, and maybe a possibility to group miners like in RTS games.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

Well done. I'm not sure what the objective is, but what mechanics were there worked really well.

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11am

Awesome, weird game because I'm just assigning tasks to the miners, not telling them step by step what to do. Impressive AI (: The voices and mining sounds were a bit too loud and got kind of annoying especially when you got more units...

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:17am

@muramasa I draw to a buffer to create the lighting effect, I think that your graphics card may require the buffer to be a power of 2 in size, as opposed to being the same size as the screen.

@mashedtatoes I get the same thing, but I'm not sure what it means. I can look into why chrome gives a warning.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

It seems that chrome warns for any zip that contains an exe and doesn't have some threshold of downloads. Perhaps it will mark it as trusted after some time has passed.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This is very interesting in concept, and well executed. I like how you managed to take a fairly complex system and boil it down to a few clicks.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I am thoroughly impressed at the AI. It must have been extremely painful to implement it!

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Wow amazing and very fun it gets me and i cant stop playing

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Nice job! On Mac OS I had a little problem with performance (sometimes 6 FPS). I had quite good machine though.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

This is really cool! I kinda wish there was more instruction.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57am

Very impressive! It ran smoothly for me and the AI was always fun to watch. I will just echo others and say I wish there were more things to do, but I understand the time crunch!

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

It would be great if it would have some kind of objective. It's fun to watch them digging around :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:04am

I love open ended games like this. it's fun making a bunch of miners, and having them go! Nice job!

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Really great game with awesome potential !

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice AI! Not much of a goal but I'm guessing that was intentional

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:24am

Well done and what an amazing feat you have accomplished in just 48 hours! the Pathfinding is fantastic and It also evades bombs :)

TeamAlpha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:45am

With time it gets a little repetitive, but that didn't make me wanna stop mining. Great AI and cool graphics. Nice job.

PriorBlue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:09pm

The AI works pretty well, respect.

blahoink says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:14am

incredibly done for 48 hours with awesome procedural stuff. but oh my god that voice acting is bad.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:21am

Oh lol, really good IA and path finding, nice and fun, the only thing confused me a bit are the voices overlaping, great game!

ahmeni says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:08am

Beauty.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:23am

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55433941/downloads/OtherPeoplesStuff/TheMine-linux.tar.gz
Created a Linux distributable. chmod'ed and everything.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:45am

I really like the idea of nearly automating the player, removing the annoying grunt work from the mining process. But it could use more. Like the ability to move the players with the arrow keys/WASD as well as the auto mining with the mouse. If expanded upon I'd like to see more exciting elements, more things to craft, mobs to fight off, win/loss states, etc.

~AlucardX60

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:58am

graphics are great and good mood but no idea what the purpose is - good job

Almost says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:39am

Thanks Pixel^3, I'll add that link

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:25am

Really impressive for a compo entry. Great base for a larger game as well. Some music would have been a nice addition.

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:55am

Very good work. Even though there is no real goal in the game, I kept playing for quite some time.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]