Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill, Baby, Drill

by mneubrand - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drill through to all oil reserves in the level without hitting stone, the surface or your previous path.

A,Left = Turn drill left
D,Right = Turn drill right
Space = Action (Start/Restart level, etc.)

Implemented using HTML5 Canvas. Uses HTML5 Boilerplate (http://html5boilerplate.com/), canvg (https://code.google.com/p/canvg/) and SoundManager 2 (http://www.schillmania.com/projects/soundmanager2/).

Best performance in Chrome 34. Also tested in FF 28 (choppier) and IE 11 (choppy, no sound). Needs a relatively beefy PC because getImageData performance is horrific and I didn't have time for any optimizations. Also needs a pretty high resolution screen (scroll down in case the game gets pushed under the instructions)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Theme3.92
#140Overall3.70
#150Fun3.59
#163Innovation3.69
#269Graphics3.63
#530Mood3.00
#646Audio2.60
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Cool, a creative and fun take on Snake! I like the level designs that required some strategic thinking. That last level was hard but I felt like I had to beat it.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Excellent idea and game. The controls was a little weird for me, but i got used to it.

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

I love the twists on this mechanic! Having different materials that adjust your speed is a great way to control the pacing and offer little "breathers" or moments of great stress. This also does a great job of ramping the difficulty so that things like self-crossing don't really show up until later. Well done!

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Solid game! Reminds me of snake in some ways. It was an interesting concept and it was well executed. The drilling nose got annoying at times, but I otherwise have no complaints!

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Adictive!

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15am

Hit a bug a couple of times where the new level didn't load properly occasionally, otherwise good.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

I really enjoyed this one. Played it all the way through and found myself hoping for more levels. Think some enemies or some other elements as the game goes on would be good to help the challenge ramp up a bit. but great work

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08am

What a great game. Good job!

jotson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09am

Fun game. Cool concept with the different layers to dig through.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

Doesn't run to well on my computer, but I want to say the art looks great! :D

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:47am

It was fun going from one material to another though the drill often felt too slow. The graphics were simple but effective.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48am

Nice minimap as well.

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Pretty clever level design, good job

Tomski says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:48pm

A nice take on the theme

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Solid game! The minimap makes it almost too easy, though.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:44pm

the concept is rather interesting, but I find the game too slow and repetitive. it would deserve some more work to be really good :)

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:59pm

The game ran fine here, and it looks great. The graphical style is consistent, sharp and very clear.
The sfx got a bit annoying after a few levels, and the graphical style doesn't quite match with the 8-bit sfx.
The gameplay is conceptually simple, but very well designed. The difficulty also ramps up well with later levels, and it was a joy to finish.
With a few more underground hazards and more levels, this has great potential.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:13pm

WOW!

I got hooked for real..
So simple yet addictive gameplay.
Keep working on this and put on iPhone or something.

I'll buy it for sure...

Good job!

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:52am

This is great! Controls were smooth and worked well, great aesthetic, simple but effective gameplay. I really enjoyed this one, though some of the level design seemed a little odd.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]