Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Turn-A Totally BS!: Turn Up a Dig Site

by avalonknight - Jam Entry

NOTES:
Newgrounds Dumping Grounds Entry and DeviantArt:
Original upload entered in before the time limit.

Newgrounds Portal Entry:
Tweaked graphics, added colors to characters. Entered after the time limit.

Very loosely inspired by the Atari ET Excavation, follow the misadventures of Tabitha Snowick as she watches the two adorable trouble makers she's suppose to keep under control try and find the "Infamous Treasure". Will they find it? If they do, what will they do with it? (And the bunch of holes they'll make as well?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Humor(Jam)3.61
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#445Graphics(Jam)3.19
#477Theme(Jam)2.95
#479Mood(Jam)2.87
#624Overall(Jam)2.73
#641Innovation(Jam)2.40
#668Fun(Jam)2.29
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13am

I didn't know where to click at first - I thought the play button would link to your website or something, whoops.

JokerDen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

Very simple gameplay but I'm liked visual style.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:05am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is cute! I really liked the little animation stings you put in as the game progressed, and the characters were cute. Same thing for the general idea--it was a nice story, well-executed, with a good feeling.

Unfortunately... the gameplay. It didn't even behave as I expected, since it said something about digging up three spots? I could just click on each square in turn, so it was kind of just a "click up to x times" game. Since you're participating in a jam, you might want to consider pairing up with a dedicated designer... as-is, I felt like what I was receiving was a really nice flash comic with a great interactive portion, more than a game.

avalonknight says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Ah, sorry for the possible confusion. I assume you thought you can dig up to three spots due the explanation at the bottom mentioning the chances of finding it in one go, but that's referring to each of the dig sizes. You can only dig up one spot at a time, and the spot of where the treasure is randomized.

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11am

This is Rik from the CORE Games team, posting on Mith's account.

The idea was simple and somewhat cute. I loved the simplistic map screen, and the music was very clear. There wasn't really any challenge, since from what I saw you basically just click until you win, but it's not bad (and certainly less buggy than other entries - unlike our own!), so well done.

Vector from Victory Garden said it pretty well; this felt like an interactive webcomic page, which isn't a bad thing at all.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:26am

It could have used some mechanics that build tension.

May 4, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Aww, the vignettes are adorable :)

mrbungle says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:22pm

I like the visual style and overall feel, shame there isn't really any gameplay to speak of.

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Not much gameplay other than "click, repeat until win" but it did have charming music and visuals. I am left wondering where they got the digger though, and if any of the girls are licensed to operate one...

avalonknight says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:32am

No! Do not wonder! It'll drive you insane! Tabz also tried to find some logic as to the stuff they do, but ultimately gave up and rolled with it.

BooleanByte says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I enjoyed the joke in this game a lot, but the images passed a little too quickly for me to pay attention much.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]