Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

broken

by Chaoseed - Jam Entry

This is more of a proof of concept than anything else. Real life hit me hard this weekend, but I wanted to do SOMETHING. "broken" is playable, but it might only take you 5 minutes to play through. I don't expect much in the way of votes, I just wanted to show you guys the cool(?) idea I had!

The usage of the theme may not be immediately apparent, but if you play through it should become clear.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#38Innovation(Jam)3.87
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#389Humor(Jam)2.52
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#434Theme(Jam)3.04
#533Overall(Jam)2.93
#707Graphics(Jam)2.27

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

I found the blocks with eyes very cute. I couldn't figure out the password to move forward though :(

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

wow, that was out of the box! Very nice approach to the theme and nice game mechanics. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to get very far though (since I'm not a programmer) but I got to the end! Very nice experience!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15am

Also thanks for the kind words about my game! I replied your message there =]

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

Nice use of coding and gaming, i like it.

Also spoiler the first password is "broken", took me a couple of times to realize that the little blue people are not enemies.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Nice attempt tot he theme, I really like that "investigation" feeling needed to find the password :D

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05am

Hey, this bears some resemblance to my game! :D How strange! :D

pkenney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10am

Cool little entry, a nice sense of style. Had to think about a few things just long enough! Not much scope, but I liked the idea for the theme anyway.

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13am

I got that the password was "broken" but couldn't figure out where to stand to type it in to make the door open, tried a bunch of different places.

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30am

It's a game that makes me smile! The use of programming language in puzzle solving is interesting :)

Collan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

Easily one of the most unique entries I've seen. Well done!

rvmook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:18am

Nice concept, would've liked it to be more obvious where you can type. It reminded me of this one, so check it out if you need some inspiration or something http://www.demonsterdebugger.com/game

May 1, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Made it to the end, I like the concept, you should develop it further!

Knowledge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Great game but where is theme?

Chaoseed says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:18am

Thanks for all your comments, guys! :) For now I'm not really going to respond to any individual ones...just because judging is still happening, you know. I'll let my submission page and entry speak for themselves.

(One note, though--if you go to the directory the web page is in, you'll find a zip file with most of the source for the game. What you'd have to do to compile it is have a Flash file with the main class set as BSystem. Then you'd need the graphics as assets in the library. Anyway, the point is if you're into AS3 you should be able to figure out what's going on! Not that it's too hugely innovative or even cleanly coded...)

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:56pm

An interesting idea, although I didn't have to edit any of the actual code when I was playing. The player characters were cute.

Cash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Great idea but I found it a little too easy but still very enjoyable

shasharala says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:24am

That was enjoyable. I really liked the unique take on the theme.

I would like to see this idea explored more.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:12pm

So different, really awesome!
Haha, I did try edit the code...

Mago says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Very cool idea. Too bad you hadn't full weekend to work because it would be amazing.

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:40pm

expressive text

Kep says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Very neat idea. Innovation++.

garygreen says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I thought that was a really clever idea, nice interpretation of the theme too & a great idea for a programming tutorial. Nice one.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]