Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

It Came From The Sewer

by Catman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

They are close, and nowhere is safe! They are the rat-mole-aliens!
There is some good news too, however: the aliens are on your side!
Kill all the girls with your underground army!
There are around 15 levels, and then you unlock the 'random' mode. :)

HOW TO PLAY:
Click on the spawners to spawn rat-aliens.
Click on the tubes to rotate them.
You have a limited amount of alien-power, so play wisely! When that runs out, you lose!

!!!!!!!!!!!!-----HINTS-----!!!!!!!!!!:
- Aliens change direction when they find their way blocked (they go straight until they cannot anymore). They'll then choose another direction at random, but not the one they came from. Keep that in mind!

- Aliens cannot bear earth's oxygen, and they'll die after a while.

- Girls take a fixed amount of hits to die (you can use more aliens to kill them faster).

- Girls will be scared and run away if they see an alien, use that to your advantage!

- Never, NEVER let an alien enter a spawner from above. That is a recipe for disaster.

NOTES FOR THE FUTURE:
I've been thinking about how to improve the design an, so here are some ideas:
- counterattacking girls (with flooding, or bombs, or who knows)!
- dynamic change of the tubes at times (they get closed off, some of them rotate automatically, etc...)!
- different alien types
- halfway goals, such as 'stuff' to collect!
- the more time the aliens spend in the sewer, the stronger they get!

Feel free to contribute! :)

CREDITS:
Made from scratch by Michele Pirovano with Unity 3D, Gimp, LMMS, Audacity, BFXR.

Fluid Soundfonts (used to compose the music): Copyright (c) 2000-2002, 2008 Frank Wen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#62Humor3.73
#93Graphics4.04
#105Theme3.86
#110Audio3.62
#110Overall3.77
#193Innovation3.63
#210Fun3.49
#319Mood3.27

Comments

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04am

This is really neat! It could use some balancing to make it more challenging and stop players spamming aliens, but this is a really solid game with a really solid mechanic! nice one.

Catman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46am

Thank you! Yeah, I agree on the balancing bit. I was torn between improving the design straight away to avoid the spamming, and the joy of seeing so many aliens being spammed. The latter won, at the time. ;)

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

Fancy pixel art and funny game mechanics. Top!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55pm

The art and music fit so well with each other, and with the theme of the game. Nice job!

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Good Art.

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

While it's a great idea that I had a lot of fun with, it comes down to finding the right path and then spamming the aliens as fast as possible until you win.
Loads of potential in this game though, really good work!
The graphics and especially the music are amazing, too :)

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Great game! It was not always clear to me which direction rats would follow, but I had fun eating people nevertheless :)

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Visuals were cool. The pathfinding seemed inconsistent, so I couldn't really anticipate what path to create for the rats..
I also really liked the music, it was nice ^^

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

Great game. Seriously great. Loved the music, art and play mechanics. Really fun puzzle game. Polish and work on some more and release somewhere. It's worthy.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21am

Very nice game, good pixel art and catchy music :D
With a little polish it could be a hit in the app stores :D

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

Ah, ah, ah! Wonderful!

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Thanks to all of you!! I've added a few ideas in the description section to solve the spamming design issue, while still leaving the joy of sending dozens of aliens up to greet the sun. :D

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Hi there,

great game with some solid mechanic. I miss some kind of juice and polish but that could be added in a post compo version?

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Awesome game, love the art and music.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Been looking forward to this game! The puzzle aspect didn't really shine through, but I really like the art and the music.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Haha, great game. Needs more levels or something, because its too easy right now. Great start to a game.

Shivur says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Pretty original.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Wonderful game! I think it might be a great game for kongregate or newgrounds audience.

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Took me some time to get the gameplay, but very good compo !

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Pretty fun, at first it was a little confusing, but what you got the hang of it it became quite a game

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I enjoyed the graphics, music, and sound. The gameplay is fun, but I couldn't stand losing immediately when pressing the release button the last time. Wish all rats had time to die off first.

pixelpig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Fantastic game! so polished

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Thanks again to everyone for the feedback!

@Warzone Gaming: Will surely add more levels, after I refine the mechanics. I have a lot of ideas for extensions too, like special blocks, new aliens and so on... this was a more rough proof of concept. :)

@metkis: you are right, that is a good idea, as otherwise you are obliged to just click it and lose. I'll surely do that!

Balint197 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The pathfinding at first was hard to understand, but it is a really good idea! The rat-mole-alien spamming is an issue though(cool name :D) Cool game!

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Cute, frustrating, disturbing and fun.

Robber says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

yeah this is great, right amount a twisted hilariousness..
already some good puzzly elements when the girls walk away from the toilets and stuff, could be improved a little with the pipe design/option, but already so much fun to play..

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Cute, frustrating, disturbing and fun.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Glad you liked the 'disturbance'. ;)

Yeah, I maybe threw too many unrefined mechanics in it, I just thought about making it cruel and fun, next step is to make them more synergetic!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34pm

The graphics are absolutely delicious and they work really well with the sounds. This makes for a great mood. The little girls are absolutely hilarious and adorable, I love the way they laugh when idling. The game is unfair though and sometimes I didn't understand why what I was doing wasn't working (aliens would go down a weird tube, or I wouldn't know how many "hits" a girl would take before she was eaten). Pretty cool stuff though

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10am

amazing pixel art and very original take on the theme

Catman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:07am

@BoneDaddy: I see how you could think the aliens' movement is unfair, I'll add more information on it. The hits on the girl are always the same amount, tho. Thank you for the feedback!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:30am

Fun little game, great entry!

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:11am

Interesting! Nice art and music, innovative gameplay. Though the rotation of the floors is a bit confusing.

bwpdsigns says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Great game! Nice music and graphics.

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:02pm

I liked games in which I can be an asshole. Thank you for letting me be one.

gnerkus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:10am

I feel ashamed. This is one of the best games I've played.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Wow, looks and plays really well! For an LD it's seriously impressive! I'd love to see a post-compo version! :)

GFM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Great polish!! And the music was so cool!!
It took me a while to understand how the aliens behave but, after that, the game was really fun. I thought, at first, that they could change direction at any intersection... I'll have to read the description more carefully next time. =X

Great job. :)

StoneMasters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:11pm

It came from the desert! So this is the sequal then? :) ..from the Sewers! Nice puzzely game. WD for a 48h game.

May 2, 2014 @ 5:37pm

really good man.. nice'n'polished :)

rorycooke says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:46pm

this is really nice, I love that graphics - so cute 555555555

May 2, 2014 @ 7:21pm

fun! thx for making it (- : very good art and nice sound. Looking forward to your next game. Good work!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:35pm

haha, very funny! cute visuals! ;)

May 3, 2014 @ 12:23am

Pretty slick presentation, great pixel art and sound. Interesting concept for a puzzle game too. Not to be 'that guy', but it felt a bit weird that I was only killing girls. Why can't I kill some guys too? I support equal opportunity mole-rat-alien devouring!

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:02am

Really cool game. Feels almost like an inverted pipe dream game. There was as lot of good strategy in the game, though there were a few levels where spawning aliens could complete it, most required a lot of thought and careful bating of girls to get them in the right position. Also very funny, though the highly public toilets is a little disturbing.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:06am

This is an awesome entry, Looks like its ready for so much more :)

Catman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:11am

Thanks to everyone!!

@ArcturusDeluxe: this is explained in the postmortem :)

Long story short: I had a shrieking niece around while working.

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/02/it-came-from-the-sewer-the-post-mortem/

loxo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Overall a great fun to play game, I like especially the graphics and the interesting concept. Different types of girls would be nice, so that you need different strategies to get them. Maybe combined with different types of aliens or you can change an alien by directing it through different kinds of tunnels.

Izitmee says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Beautiful game with beautiful art. I'm so frustrated I didn't participate and thus I can't vote for it :P

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Very good game! quite addictive.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Great game, I just wish the way the aliens turn when reaching a wall wasn't so random.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:59pm

This made the little sociopath in my so happy. Solid pipe puzzler with charming graphics and fitting sound. Good job.

mboaj says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Really great and sick :) in a good way though.

GarethIW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:29am

I had to play this as a fan of ICFTD. I'm not sure which is scarier - rats or ants! Fun game.

May 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Love the graphics and the game! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:05am

Wow at this - sick the aliens on the little girls.

You Win font is incredible.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

The difficulty curve is not great, but that is the only thing I didn't like in this entry. Fantastic job

Ithildin says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Nice! I love how the puzzle element from the pipes blends in with the resource management part of spawning the aliens. It's also ver fitting. Great work!

conormn says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:53am

WOW! Really love the idea and execution. Killer job!!!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]