Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ursa Miner

by drstik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ursa Miner is a brutally difficult 2D asteroid mining "simulator".

Pilot your ship through the asteroid field, locate ore within the asteroids with your scanner, and extract it with your mining beam.

Built using Unity 4.3, Photoshop and Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#364Graphics3.46
#375Innovation3.33
#398Overall3.33
#558Fun3.00
#595Humor2.38
#607Theme3.21
#680Audio2.53
#717Mood2.82

Comments

Calahagus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

Really well done! It's surprisingly hard, I only got a high score of 2 :P

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

This is by far the most innovative game I've played yet, and fun too!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

The graphics are super cute, but it is stressful as hell controlling that little ship without crashing into asteroids! Takes me back to lunar lander! Nicely done!

Zathalos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Interesting game. I liked how the sonar worked and how you had to look for valuable ore. The controls were troublesome though. The turning was really slow and when you went in reverse, the left/right controls swapped. If you tweaked the controls and speed, this game would be even better. Good job.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Somewhat frustrating controls, but they serve to make the game more difficult. :P Nice job. Fun to play, cool graphics.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Really fun controlling the rocket, its actually quite hard to maneuver it to mine.

Afrosatan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:18am

Very fun, hard to control though.
It would probably have been easier if the ore collector came out the top for me.

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Graphics are nice and clean and minimalist. I love that.

The ship was difficult to control.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

I like the concept of this game, and it looks really nice. Other than the controls taking a bit of getting used to, I enjoyed it.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

It's nice! But the controls killed it for me. Also, I skipped the instructions, and was wondering how the mining worked. I tried to dig like 10 times, only to figure out it was an extracting beam. Love the graphics, though.

Nep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

It's really hard, I got 4(but it said 2 because I got them when I was dead.)
I like that there is a little person in there, I didn't see it at first :P.
Well done with the use of the theme.

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

I feel like doing the parallel parking ;P

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Nice game! Had some fun. Although controls are annoyingly uber hard and it lacks progressing.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I agree with "FyberOptic". Frustrating controls at fisrt, until you really get the right way. Congrats!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

The controls is kinda hard and feels "backwards" so it took me a good amount of time to get used to the controls but then the game was pretty fun

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

Brutally difficult was an understatement. Liked the art style.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36am

My brain struggles with the way the controls flip when going backwards (in a good way).

Could stand to have some nice ambient music in the background, perhaps!

ix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12am

Simple and pretty. I like the contextualized [i.e. "in the world"] opening screen. Well done.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13am

That poor bear...

I felt really alone and floatin' in space playing this. Perhaps the disorientation from the controls helps that. I think easier-to-get gems woulda helped folks ease into it a bit; putting more valuable gems deeper in the asteroids would make it worthwhile for people to actually get good at it still.

Great atmosphere and cool controls!

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I kinda like the graphics

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:52am

Brutally difficult is an understatement, it takes extreme patience and self control to keep the ship from crashing into an asteroid and it takes even more discipline to collect minerals/gemstones.

I think the controls were too challenging. If the aim was to go for realism, then why is there no momentum? What frictional force is slowing them down? I do like the fact that forward and backward reverse the direction that the player needs to change the direction they turn to go in the direction they want. I think if the acceleration was tied directly to the state of the keys it would be a lot more fun but that's just my two cents.

Awesome concept and really nice polish on this one :)

Zutty says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:46am

Incredibly difficult. The controls are quite counter intuitive.

csanyk says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:02am

Wow that was hard.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]