Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tentacle Potato Defence

by NeiloGD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are in charge of establishing a costal defence against some evil tentacles, argh!!

To play, simply select a building type, and place where allowed to, or alternatively upgrade a building you've already placed during your turn. You can only do this during the day, so make sure you think it through carefully!

Each day/night cycle is a total of 30 seconds long, so 15 seconds to build, 15 seconds to defend. Good luck!

Also, comment what level you make it to to give a bit of competition!

---------- NOTE!! ----------

It seems I forgot to put in the instructions that the defence units require monies to fire hunter seekers. So that is why they sometimes stop shooting. Make sure you have enough monies to keep firing for night! That is part of the challenge ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#25Audio4.06
#82Humor3.60
#189Fun3.52
#303Overall3.45
#332Theme3.52
#395Mood3.17
#482Innovation3.16
#639Graphics3.03

Comments

Wonkyth says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Since when did bullets cost ammo? Unrealistic. 8/10, would not tentacle again.

Akihidas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

Sound effects make it worth it alone

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

Giving you 5 stars for audio because your SFX were amazing. I found this game tough and frustrating and I apparantly suck at resource management. But it was a great entry nonetheless!

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

Dat upgrade sound effect...

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

Pretty fun. The timing of the day/night cycle is pretty seemless, so good job there. It has had me playing for a while .

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

Was enjoyable, but the bullets-for-money system was incredibly infuriating, I'd suggest something like paying for special powers or having a dual money/bullets currency system. Although obviously you only had 48 hours, so I don't want to pretend that we should expect the earth.

Overall, an entirely decent game for the time.

Kimau says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Really good fun ^_^
Harder than it looks and the Text could be bigger. Really hard to see key information. The sound effects are perfect and the tentacles ended up looking really cool. The Lure mechanic really adds to it.
Overall I would say huge success!

fued says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

the sound is amazing lol

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30am

Mouth sounds FTW ^_^

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26am

Sound effects are epic :-) paying for bullets made it interesting (and hard) to balance spending during the day and saving for the night. Good potato!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

Very nice use of the theme. Really good for only 48 hours!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25am

Tentaclicious! Raves the Toaster!

samooJAM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41am

I made it to the level 10.
You will quickly lose the game after any mistake. Give players more time to think, build and maybe even sell buildings.
It's fun to build and upgrade stuff. Money management seems to be very important.

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19pm

The sounds as everyone has said were awesome, and night/day was nice too, but as a design consideration I would suggest giving the player something to do while the tentacles attack, like being able to shoot special bullets that cost extra or something. Because it's challenging now, but not that fun having the controls totally out of my hands for half the game.

May 3, 2014 @ 2:01am

"SWOOSH BOOM POW PTING 10/10"

ahmeni says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:31am

One of the best Dezzles-inspired shooters of our generation. GOTY 2004.

Zed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Made it to level 11. Feeling quite proud of myself. You should ALSO feel proud of yourself, because those are the nicest tentacles I've seen in a while. Also amazing sound effects. Really good job.

voxel says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Best audio LD29 award. You did a sick job with the tentacles too. Had to subtract all your stars for potato though

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]