Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The DARING ADVENTURES of the BLOB that can hide BENEATH THE SURFACE

by JonathanG - Jam Entry

This game takes you on a thrilling journey as the BLOB that can hide BENEATH THE SURFACE!

Controls:
Arrow keys or WSAD to move.

Hold SPACE and move towards a wall to hide beneath it. You can move around the edges.

When hidden beneath a wall, press SPACE to emerge.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#20Theme(Jam)4.06
#68Innovation(Jam)3.78
#71Overall(Jam)3.75
#72Fun(Jam)3.63
#148Audio(Jam)3.58
#186Humor(Jam)3.10
#321Mood(Jam)3.14
#410Graphics(Jam)3.28

Comments

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

Very clever alternative to just jumping. Really nice take on the theme, overall very creative nice work :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Great game! It's a lot of fun. Some improvements would be detecting the spacebar while I'm moving or pressing a direction button, also it'd be cool to be able to fall with sideways momentum or even control yourself in the air.

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice game design, excellent use of music.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I like that game mechanic - original, fun, great job!

Galdon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Going inside the walls to climb and hide was an interesting mechanic.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Very funny!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53am

One of my favorites. The trick with the audio when you go inside a wall is very clever.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Please provide an executable for linux since the webplayer is win/mac-only

pfeyffer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

A fun game. Excellent application of the theme. Lots of attention to small details like the music gets softened once you are inside the wall. Graphics might need some polishing. Definitely worth playing. Good job!

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:39am

I really loved playing this. Felt fresh and original, and the puzzle design was well thought out. Awesome tracker(?) music. Intuitive controls. Stealth ! Bonus karma for providing a Linux build. I hope you plan to spruce up the graphics, build more levels and flesh this out - I'd pay some actual money for it.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:29am

I like this game a lot, I liked the low pass filter you used on the audio when you go in the wall, clever all around. 2 questions though:
1. Can anything be done with the pink blob?
2. I got all the coins, did that do anything?

Like somebody else said, with polish it's a clever enough mechanic to turn it into a small little indie steam game.

JonathanG says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:10am

1. The pink blob was supposed to talk when you got near, but we ran out of time to implement that.
2. You get the warm, fuzzy feeling of having played the game to completion. Unfortunately we didn't have time to convey that information on the screen in any way

Hammervuis says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:52am

Well done!

mortus says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Great concept! I wish I could go through the wall while falling. Very nice music and great effect on audio when you hide into a wall, adds so much to the mood. Great job!

Nanolotl says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:53am

Great job. The main mechanic was unique and really matched the theme. The blob animation and sound effects were quite well done too.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nice! I especially liked the wall mechanic and the music!

DragonXVI says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nifty little game! Finished it but suspect I missed something on the last level :p Easy enough concept to grasp and room for lots more on top should you guys continue. Bonus points on the audio for blending between two tracks :D Could've maybe benefited from a few more obstacles, maybe a moving enemy, but as it stands great little package!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]