Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

mungo: wrenchlord

by 01010111 - Jam Entry

It is HIGHLY recommended that you use a 360 controller to play, but for scrubs with no gamepad use secret code X+C to play, mouse for minigames, and ESC to exit on Windows :)

the water pressure in Benten is wack! help mungo fix everybody's pipes!

Thanks @rezoner for the awesome splash screen :D

(back button on XBOX360 controller quits on Windows)

Stuff used:

HaxeFlixel (SUPER awesome cross platform Flixel clone)
Genny (YM2612 VST thx superjoebob, thx for showing me magdev)
Chipsounds (10 min to create sound effects? k)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#14Fun(Jam)4.07
#14Overall(Jam)4.19
#21Graphics(Jam)4.58
#48Audio(Jam)3.98
#54Mood(Jam)3.96
#89Humor(Jam)3.52
#181Innovation(Jam)3.42
#183Theme(Jam)3.53

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

Looks really cool. Couldn't get past the title screen tho. Didn't respond to the keyboard or cursor.

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

Conormn: It requires a controller.

Very beautiful. The graphics remind me a little of cave story but with a much goofier theme. I'd love to see this as a full game. Of course the first valve took me 4 tries.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

I really want to play this, but I don't have a gamepad! D:

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43am

super cool colors. I like the wrench boss fights. Please make this work for keyboards (i have an xbox controller, bu tmore people need to play this!)

Stratovarius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Cool game but I see no reason a controller is recommended, it plays perfectly fine with a keyboard. Platformers are better played with a keyboard and anyone who says otherwise is WRONG

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Wow, really nice game. I played it for quiet some time, most points go to graphics and mood. Wish it was a 48hr compo so I could check source to learn :o

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This was really cool! The characters have such a charm to them and the boss system was really original, i liked the look on the giant pirate-crab at the end haha nicely done!

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

*sigh* Another platformer about a plumber.

Just kidding. Outstanding sound/graphics/polish!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Really polished for a jam entry. Loved the pixel art.

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Awesome concept, I especially like the main character's overall design. It's really bubbly and the game is quite fun

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

superb graphics and very smooth game play!
though it's very short and not really tied with the theme, the game was very fun to play.

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Very fun and challenging platformer. Really like the valve fixing mechanic.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

this was really really awesome. it reminds me a lot of cave story. really great job on the art, muic and sfx and mood 5/5 gg

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

This was great. One of the most polished games i played so far. Interesting mechanics and a very CaveStoryesque graphic and feel (thats a good thing :) ).

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

An impressive amount of good content in this game. The teleport on the safe zone pipes seems a bit unfair. A bit more challenging jumps would be nice.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

A game where you play a plumber who jumps on Sonic's bumper and who looks like a Cave Story character : best concept :D !

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Uuu. Fun game for me. Back to consoles :)

Sink says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

Holy cow this game was great! I loved the mechanic(literally ha!) and the presentation was outstanding! Fantastic work!

01101101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

That was great, I loved the minigames! :D The art is excellent and the whole thing is polished to the max. Well done! :)

ekun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Loved the mini games, and the platforming mechanics felt solid.

Short but sweet, well done.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I really like games like this one. Classic Platformer.
And the pixel art is good.

Kep says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Pretty good.
I would have liked a check point or two and some way to heal, but I got through it.
Bonus: I just said the sentence "The giant pirate crab is happy." for the first time ever. Congrats.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

Everything is highly polished here. The pixel art is very lovely. Well done!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice game. The art is cute, the level is well designed, and having multiple minigames is really a plus. Good job

Pixlexia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:13am

The color palette is really nice, love the aesthetics! Gameplay is really challenging and fun, especially the mini-games. My only issue is when I defeated the second boss, I died from the spikes while going back up and had to start from the beginning. Checkpoints would have been great. Other than that, the game is really well-polished and fun - definitely of the best entries. Good job!

greg-anims says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:39am

I like it - especially the artwork. The green faucet by the pirate crab seemed to go on forever for me so i couldnt get any further

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Awesome game! I loved the pixel-art style, the minigames were really cool too, the amount of content you managed to put in 72h in this game is huge! oO
One of my favorites of course! :D

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:55am

Really cool game! Reminded me a lot cave story. Cool music, nice graphics and smooth game play, good job!

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:52pm

The picture and the colors are great!

SyBen says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Really great, maybe a check point system but considering the duration of the game it's not a big deal. Good job !

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Whoa, a really solid platformer with tons of charm and unique puzzles? Awesome!

Lyje says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Couldn't beat the safe zone minigame at the boss - as I was using keyb and mouse but still loved every minute of this game!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:27am

Oh man. So good.

Frump says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:16am

That was awesome! Beautiful pixel art and cool music. I really liked the crab characters minigames. Although it took me a bit to realize the angry teeth actually indicated the safe zone and not an area to avoid.

KeyMaster says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really really amazing game! Great graphics in the style of Cave story, great music and innovative minigames (which are why I understand that this requires a controller)
The only annoyance was that the game resets you to the start once you died, but luckily it only took me two tries.
Please make this into a full game with more analog stick minigames and more pipes!

Managore says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:59am

Definitely some of the best graphics I've seen so far! The palette, the sprites, the mini-games, all of it looks fantastic. And on top of that you have a really fun, responsive game.

Rustam says ...
Jul 5, 2017 @ 9:59am

CARD SETSDraft Trainer comes with a few existing card sets from your favorite games. http://thebestfreewaredownloadingservice.top And, if you need to send the same message again, you can save your text in the ReadyText list to quickly populate your message for another send-out.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]