Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magnum

by jsspiegel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath the surface of New York City, hundreds of pounds of trash are thrown onto subway tracks each day. The evil fashion mogul Mugatu is transforming this trash into high fashion in his new clothing line Derelicte, but at the expense of thousands of underpaid Malaysian child laborers. When the wage-hike supporting Prime Minister of Malaysia comes to watch the fashion show, Mugatu tries to brainwash the really, really, really, really, really ridiculously good-looking model Derek Zoolander to kill the Prime Minister, but Zoolander's rival-turned-friend Hansel thwarts Mugatu's assassination attempt. Mugatu takes matters into his own hands, insulting Zoolander and trying to kill the Prime Minister himself. However, hiding just beneath the surface of Derek Zoolander lies the one thing that stands between the Prime Minister and Mugatu's branded shuriken: Zoolander's ultimate look, Magnum.

Controls: Type the letters as they appear on screen!

Note: To view the source code, you need to download Processing from processing.org/download, and then open "Magnum.pde"

Note 2: I've been getting multiple reports of the game not launching or the key presses not registering. I'm super sorry about this, and it really pains me that people are having trouble with it. I've also experienced on my own computer (though thankfully no one has reported a case of this yet) that the game is running extremely slow. I'm doing my best to fix these issues, but I currently have no idea what could be causing them. I acknowledge that I may not be able to fix them, and deeply apologize.

Note 3: Thanks to @Moosefly, I've been able to fix the fact that the game is running so slowly! The downloads available are now both fixed! I think! I hope!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#55Humor3.76
#637Audio2.61
#832Fun2.71
#880Innovation2.63
#912Graphics2.61
#1036Mood2.41
#1069Overall2.62
#1211Theme1.98

Comments

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

What is this, a game for ANTS?

Best typing game since Typing of the Dead. Hands down.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

That's really hard I was not able to complete it after several attempts.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

I saw you post the picture for this near the beginning of the jam.. and my wait has made me not disappointed; great job!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

@Quady14: It needs to be at least... three times longer than this!

@Liens: Sorry about that! I've been able to beat it many times, but then again I made it :P Keep trying if you'd like, I promise you can beat it!

@jtpup0 Thanks man!

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Why am I so addicted to typing games?! 'specially awesome ones. It's a bit NSFW, because pretty much everyone in the office noticed me playing it and knew I wasn't working.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

Ha, I'm such a bad typer. Love the art!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

@mrspeaker and @conormn: Thanks so much!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

I've actually never played a typing game in my adulthood, so congrats on getting me to finally play one! Love the graphics and sounds. Very very short though. Also why is the file size so large?

I really need to watch zoolander again... in my adulthood

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

@BoneDaddy: And I never thought I'd make a typing game! Thanks! Yup, I wish I could have made it longer, but I didn't know quite what to add :P Thanks for mentioning the filesize, I just realized I accidentally forgot to uncheck "Embed Java" when I exported it. I've reuploaded it without the embeded Java, so the filesize is much smaller!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02am

@BoneDaddy: And yes, you totally need to watch Zoolander again... in your adulthood.

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

Wasn't able to get the keys working properly. :/

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

@EmberKirk: Sorry about that :( Not sure why that's happening

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

My god....Its beautiful. Seriously though, I was excited since that first picture you posted... I'm confused about what to do though, do you have to mash the keys? They don't just go away on pressing them? but nice job:D

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

@NicoM: Thanks man! Hmm, that's strange, the letters should disappear when you type them. What platform are you on (Windows or Mac)? I'm worried that it may not be working right for some people. *nervous sweating*

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice little game.
Im so bad at typing games it took me like 5 rounds to win haha

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

So glad I got this game to work,

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

Opps. "So glad I got this game to work," though, I think I was missing something? I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:14am

This seems interesting but it doesn't seem to register any of my key presses (other than r for retry).

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:30am

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks again for featuring it in your video! Two things you may be missing: Firstly, the whole game is a reference to the movie Zoolander, so if you haven't watched Zoolander the game will probably make no sense, and the humor factor goes way down. Secondly, if you type the letters fast enough you "win", which I don't think you got a chance to see.

@KevinWorkman: Hmm, I keep getting reports of that. What OS are you on, and what version (eg. Windows 7, 8, etc.)? Sorry about that inconvenience, I have no idea why it's happening!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

I've been getting multiple reports of the game not launching or the key presses not registering. I'm super sorry about this, and it really pains me that people are having trouble with it. I've also experienced on my own computer (though thankfully no one has reported a case of this yet) that the game is running extremely slow. I'm doing my best to fix these issues, but I currently have no idea what could be causing them. I acknowledge that I may not be able to fix them, and deeply apologize.

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I like this crazy idea. :-) It ran slow on my PC too at times & I struggled to get the key presses to work as well. Sometimes in Processing my games struggle if big audio files play, so the slowness might be down to that.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Man that's hard but the concept is genius!! Couldnt take the Magnum style out, I guess I'll stick with Blue steel...

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Unplayable for me. The FPS is horribly low (~3), and I need to smash the correct button around 10 times before it registers. I also die for no apparent reason (the shuriken has just entered the screen) after just 3 letters :(. I'll check back later and see if you've managed to fix this.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Oh, and here are my specs, if they are of any help:
64Bit W7 Ultimate, SP1
i7 860
8GB of DDR3 RAM
AMD HD5970

jsspiegel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05pm

@Oddly Shaped Pixels: Thanks man!

@Moosefly: If you're willing to go into the code, there are two things you can try. First, try commenting out the lines "Music = minim.loadFile("MagnumMusic.mp3");
Music.loop();". @garygreen said that music might make it run slowly, and those are the lines that play the music. The other thing that might help is commenting out the line "frameRate(21);". I locked the framerate to 21 frames per second because I noticed it was running way too fast on some computers, and I neglected to make it framerate independent.

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46pm

@jsspiegel: Disabling music and the frame rate limit did nothing, but I figured out the problem. Why are you calling "save("Screenshot.png");" at the end of each draw? My SSD couldn't handle that. Commented that line and it works great. Even managed to splash the almighty Magnum on the first try :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

jsspiegel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:45pm

@Moosefly: Oh my god, I can't believe I forgot to remove that! I put that in to get a screenshot for posting it on Ludum Dare! I'm posting an updated version now for Mac, and will posted an updated Windows version tonight when I can get on my Windows computer.

NicoM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:53am

Ah, just checked back on this, works great now:) off to try and win;)

NicoM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:55am

Ah yes, first real try;) screw you Mugatu!

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:45am

Funny, but I feel like the connection to the theme is pretty tenuous.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:48pm

@hyouko: Haha, definitely. I feel that I'm either going to score really high in Theme for "interpreting it uniquely", or really low for barely incorporating it.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Very silly short game. Good movie reference too.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Lol! beat it, nice job. good challenge, though a bit short.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:38pm

This was pretty funny :) Proof that typing games are a precious, precious commodity.

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:11pm

For someone who doesn't get the reference, it was still pretty funny... I guess? :D

Nice but short.

mneubrand says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Funny little typing game. Also made me want to watch Zoolander again :)

shasharala says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:27pm

That was interesting. I imagine there could multiple levels added (with a similar ending, of course) with words.

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:27am

I like how weird this is but I have absolutely no idea what's going on! I got magnum like 10 times in a row, I think I've beat the game, I definitely feel more beautiful as a result

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:30am

BTW cool to see someone using processing as their engine :)

May 4, 2014 @ 9:25am

Well that was something. I didn't get the reference so had to search online to understand what was going on. Nicely done.

May 4, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Cool game, nice to see typing games in Ludum Dare compos. :)

miwuc says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Lolwut. Not sure what I just played, but I do like me a good typing game. Too bad it's so short! Also it's hard to pay attention to the incredible transformation while looking at the letters.

alvivar says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I was not able to play it :( "A Java exception has ocurred." And the bat file did not work :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]