Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dynamole

by Zanzlanz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey!

5th time doing the compo in a row! It was fun and I'm happy with the results!

Source:
- The entire game was made in one frame. The .TXT contains all of that code. Take a look if you're interested!

Music:
- http://zanzlanz.bandcamp.com/album/dynamole

Timelapse:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzNg7RZjWYE :D

Important! I added the last achievement after the compo. Didn't think it was necessary to upload a second version just for that, so please keep that in mind if it makes or breaks the game. I also fixed a game-breaking bug.

Hope you enjoy! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#16Fun4.14
#50Overall3.94
#52Theme3.97
#58Audio3.79
#68Humor3.67
#179Mood3.53
#276Graphics3.62
#402Innovation3.29

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

I loved this game! The whole thing is so insanely frantic and difficult. The music gets you pumped. I love it.

Some of the worms seem absurdly difficult to grab and the control scheme makes jumping a bit tedious considering the tight movements required, but overall an exciting experience. The achievements are so tempting.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

Amazing game! The music and graphics are awesome! I had fun beating it, and got all of the worms on my first try!

Brunodev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

Awesome work Zanz! I'll still manage to get those 30 worms somehow!

GhostID says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

I really love the theme of a mole running away from exploding TNT! The music is fast paced which fits the theme of running away from a wave of explosions. I really loved the controls and everything's smooth. Good job, sir Alex :)!

loadx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

Nice work man, controls are a little sticky but otherwise good fast gameplay.
Look forward to the next one.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

This was damn intense! There were some rage inducing parts but replay came so fast that I didn't get frustrated. :) Music was really great also! Really good little game!

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

danidre14-BEST GAME EVAAAAAAAAAAAAAH. I PLAYED AND PLAYED AND PLAYED.....AND THEN I DECIDED TO GO AND PLAY AGAIN. FULL EVERYTHING FOR YOU ZANZLANZ. \(^O^)/

xk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

The best controls(i mean really great, not sarcastic). 5/5

MisterDerek2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Amazing!

mattrified says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I got through, but that last section...lol. Nice job.

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Nice mood, a little hard in the beginning.

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

That was such a simple, but clever idea and well executed. I really liked it. :-)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

I could only get as far as collecting 6 worms. This game is very hard! :D The mole character was endearingly funny as he ran. I enjoyed the music and the concept of running along with the exploding dynamite was very epic. Took me awhile to know about being able to jump straight up walls though. Nice job!

jedeen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

This was a lot of fun, and very challenging.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20am

pretty hard!

madflame991 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02am

+ fast paced and fun
+ sticks to the theme
+ difficult and challenging
- jumping could be tweaked a bit

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54am

Thanks for the comments! It's fun to see how players take the challenge, and how some people get all of the achievements and beat the game, incredibly. I'm thinking about how I can make it more balanced (less frustrating, still a challenge). I'm guessing I'd need to add lots of levels, where it starts out easy and gets more of a challenge for experienced players. That'd be a fun, full, release-worthy game, right? :D

I was hoping for a tip on how "jumping can be tweaked a bit." I'm not much of a game player, which probably explains why I don't notice what's wrong with it. @madflame991 ;)

Thanks!

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37am

Cool. +10 stars for showing that the timeline is still an awesome tool :)

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:08am

Grea platformer that controls very well. I enjoyed it!

May 2, 2014 @ 2:55pm

This was a small and simple, yet entertaining game. Well done :D

d__adee says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:35am

That was fun! xD Also is this game beatable? :0
Graphics is nice! And that music (Which is not really a surprise)! It's a crazy great game! Good job! :)

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Argh, I only found 29 worms!! I'm mad at you now. :P

Seriously though, this game is a blast! (Yes, pun.) Outrunning an exploding cave is a deliciously exhilarating experience, and the worm collectables (and by extension, the achievements) gave this game great replay value & depth (and also let you showcase the level design), making the game so much more than just an "escape" game. And of course, wall-jumping is great fun, so thanks for making that a central part of the game.

The controls get the job done, but it would have been helpful if jump height could be controlled by how long the jump key is held down. I also have a pet-peeve against randomized hazards like the lava balls, but that's a personal preference so I won't complain too much about that.

And needless to say, your soundtracks never disappoint, and this game's is no exception! And keeping everything shaking all the time & seeing everything explode really got me pumped, and fit the music perfectly. Overall, great stuff!

Zanzlanz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:55pm

@d__adee! This game is totally beatable lol! I'm not too good with difficulty balancing, am I? XD! Thanks bro!

@MrJohnson22, thanks so much!! :D Your comment is really nice!

The lava balls are actually timed to be exactly the same timing (although they are still a bit unfair nonetheless). I agree I could have made them better!

Also, great job at 29 worms, haha! That's no easy task! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:23pm

this is a real gem of a game and more people should play it - one of the best in my opinion

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]