Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ludumsub

by travislucia - Jam Entry

Arrows to Move
[Z] to shoot/ Drop Cargo
[R] to restart

Ludum Dare 29 "Beneath the Surface"

Game was made in "72" hours for the Ludum Dare 29. I made the game solo but worked at my real job for 24 hours of the 72. I'm very pleased with the finished product, graphics and gameplay came together well and the music was procedurally generated and it came out great.

It is a simple Submarine shooter/ puzzle game.

I tried some new things this time around, after all thats what LD is all about. Including some particle graphics and the lighting effects.

I would like to add some newgrounds achievements, more levels and some enemies or additional puzzle-like gameplay.

Thanks for checking it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Fun(Jam)3.27
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#288Mood(Jam)3.23
#293Overall(Jam)3.34
#303Theme(Jam)3.29
#322Audio(Jam)3.17
#547Innovation(Jam)2.63
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Fun game, love the bubbles that come out of the little sub, it adds such a good visual feedback for when the sub moves. I died a lot haha.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Very fun and enjoyable game. The art was cute, and gameplay addicting. Good job.

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

Like the graphics. I leaned forward in my seat a few times when I got near the goal with little time left, that's probably a good thing haha.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

Loved the pixel art, sounds were good, the laser shake the screen gets after shooting made it feel nice to shoot, overall extremely well done :)

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

An ok shooter game with a nice tune. Time runs out too quickly, though.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04pm

If you continue on this, revisit the physics! collisions with walls are kind of weird and the cargo got stuck in the wall a few times. I really liked the random generated music!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I like the atmosphere (especially when the lights go out). Nice work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58am

Yea, another newgroundser!

eerongal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:16am

This is a rather well put together game. Good job!

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:24am

Very fun! I agree with some of the others who said that time runs out too quickly. As is, one wrong turn and you're done for. It's a good looking game, so I'd like the chance to explore a bit.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35am

Nice work! I really love the graphics, the lighting in the later levels is a nice touch. I did beat the game! It was very very difficult, though - maybe the timer could be less demanding.

trueyomic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:21am

Very nice game! All the levels seemed balanced. I got uneasy in the dark levels, but figured my way around (I'm glad the levels weren't too big). It did leave me wanting for more levels by the end so that's a plus. Very fun, great graphics, great levels, great mechanics. A+

May 2, 2014 @ 8:49am

Well done! This was super fun to play. Nice art and puzzle design. Music was fitting too (yay random music!). The dark levels got a little frustrating, but very very solid effort. Top marks.

Photon says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I like the atmosphere this game exudes. Unfortunately I found it to be kind of repetitive, but its still a good little game.

ceosol says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:29am

The game is very nice overall. However the weight thingy falls through the world sometimes.

Penguincat says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:27am

The graphics were really nice - awesome lighting effects in the dark levels. The gameplay got a bit repetitive, especially in the middle levels, but still, good solo entry.

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:18am

Death from crashing into the walls once is a little harsh.

There's a bug where if you drop the weight when it is inside a solid object, it falls through the object, and is usually unretrievable.

Graphics are very good, music not so good and too loud. Overall very nice. Tough game, but not impossible.

May 10, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Fun, fun game! The graphics are also amazing! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ARsCeJtTlas

Muciojad says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Very good pixel graphics, gameplay is ok, one thing what is irritating me is timer - it runs too quickly ;]

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Really well-done and polished, especially visually - the particle effects in particular impressed me. A short but fun, sometimes tricky game with nice moody music. Well done!

loxo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Great captivating game! I had much fun playing it, wish there were more level. Overall awesome.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]