Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Alien Miner

by MAT4DOR - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Web link doesn't really work because of the new Java updates. You need to reduce the security of your Java. If you really want play, please download the JAR from Windows or Linux links. I will try to make this work, as soon as i can.
NOTE2: Requires Java 7, I will compile for Java 6 later.

So, you are an alien, and you can mine the world and purchase some upgrades.

Instructions:
AD to move, SPACE to jump
SHIFT to mine the tile you are facing.
Hold W or S and SHIFT to mine the tile above or below.
You can also use the MOUSE1 button(left button) to mine the tile.
CTRL to grab tile to climb using W and S.

The objective is only to get the upgrades from the shop.
I know this is not very creative, but its what i made. :(

Hope you like it. Have fun. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#545Theme3.28
#841Audio2.18
#912Overall2.81
#925Graphics2.59
#1052Humor1.47
#1063Fun2.38
#1073Mood2.33
#1134Innovation2.19

Comments

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Eek dude, looks good, I want to play, but trying to play on linux 64 bit.

Got this error when I ran 'java -jar AlienMiner.jar'

com.andrebaltazar.alienminer.ResourceLoadException: Error loading sound from /jump.wav
at com.andrebaltazar.alienminer.Sound.<init>(Sound.java:42)
at com.andrebaltazar.alienminer.Sound.init(Sound.java:22)
at com.andrebaltazar.alienminer.Game.init(Game.java:110)
at com.andrebaltazar.alienminer.Game.access$0(Game.java:106)
at com.andrebaltazar.alienminer.Game$1.run(Game.java:100)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:744)
Caused by: javax.sound.sampled.LineUnavailableException: line with format PCM_SIGNED 44100.0 Hz, 16 bit, mono, 2 bytes/frame, little-endian not supported.
at com.sun.media.sound.DirectAudioDevice$DirectDL.implOpen(DirectAudioDevice.java:513)
at com.sun.media.sound.DirectAudioDevice$DirectClip.implOpen(DirectAudioDevice.java:1304)
at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractDataLine.open(AbstractDataLine.java:121)
at com.sun.media.sound.DirectAudioDevice$DirectClip.open(DirectAudioDevice.java:1085)
at com.sun.media.sound.DirectAudioDevice$DirectClip.open(DirectAudioDevice.java:1175)
at com.andrebaltazar.alienminer.Sound.<init>(Sound.java:40)
... 5 more

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

Thats some error with the format of the sound :S Some people played it on Linux already, don't really know how to correct that bug, so I made that its plays even if it has no sound.

Thanks for trying to play :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Nice work there. :) Could have used some "real" objectives, but I had fun digging around and then trying to get back to the shop as I had digged all the ground surrounding it... Duh. :P

elfeck says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I really like the animations of the ores and how it bounces back if you don't hold long enough. An ending would a great addition.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

I really liked the music for some reason ! Good job ! It remided be of Steam World Dig. Good job, even if it lacks some sort of ending :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Quite fun this. Got nicely distracted picking up yellow blobs until I got myself completely stuck :)

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

The best part is navigating your way up to the surface when you're done digging. Nice work!

leddkire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I enjoyed the controls. I found myself dancing with my fingers trying to climb back up many ledges and jumping from one wall to another.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

nice little game, could be more interesting with some objectives, the controls are a bit messy, you should consider using the left hand to move and the right hand for actions

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

So chill. :)

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:05pm

This was quite a fun relaxing game. The only real problem with it was that there's no goal except buy upgrades so you can mine for upgrades faster. If you had some kind of boss to fight or some deep cave you have to reach that would be cool.

None the less, great effort!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]