Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dwarven Kingdoms

by kristof - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit: I managed to build a version for windows. I hope it works for you. Let me know of any problems in the comments. Thanks!

Dwarven Kingdoms is a turn based strategy game. The world is divided into four kingdoms. You have been chosen to finally end the war and to unite all dwarves under one banner. You have to fight the three other kings and their troops. To finance their troops, all kingdoms will try to control as many gold mines as possible. Collect the gold and use it to pay your army.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Controls:
- Hold right mouse button: Move the camera
- Mouse wheel: Zoom in and out
- Left mouse button: Interact
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Mechanics:
- Kings can only move on tiles that are part of their kingdom.
- If a king collects four gold coins, he can place an army on a tile next to him.
- The gold mines produce a gold coin every eight turns.
- Armies expand the kingdom by moving around.
- If an army enters a field with an enemy unit on it, the unit gets destroyed.
- You win by eliminating the three other kings.
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Tools:
- C++
- SDL2
- OpenGL
- Some helper classes from previous projects.
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Thanks a lot for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#251Graphics3.67
#303Overall3.45
#322Fun3.31
#328Innovation3.40
#757Audio2.35
#952Mood2.53
#972Humor1.81
#1266Theme1.40

Comments

aslakhol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29am

This was a really fun puzzle game, even if the link to the theme is a bit stretched.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07am

I wasn't really able to find a link to the theme. The graphics are just magnificient.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Not really sure what was going on, but I was really digging the art style.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

darn no windows or web version, the screenshot looks cool!

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

Nice idea. Next time you can try use Emscripten to compile your C++ code to JavaScript. :)
I tried that and it is working (as you can see in my entry)

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

nice idea - had fun :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Need linux version!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Didn't understand the theme on the game, but liked to play it.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cool game, looks clean. Maybe a title, didn't get the theme.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is really cool! I love the way it looks, so beautiful.

fantata says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Love it, well done!

shubshub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This game froze my Computer So I can't rate it

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I'm not sure the mecanic really works, it seems the place where you begin isn't really fair. It's nice though.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I really dig the visual style, and it's actually quite engaging when you understand the mechanics.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

I liked it. Feels like some kind of board game. Could have used some extra strategy elements but this is a good entry for the 48h comp ^^

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13am

The controls and art style are nice. I was going to complement the AI for cornering my king (there was no way I could live 2 more turns) but then he changed his mind and moved his soldier in a random direction so my king was able to run away to where the soldier had been previously.

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25am

Awesome you made a windows version!
This was a very cool little strategy game with some nice depth! great job man! could see this as a great competitive game, maybe mobile or a board game!

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Hi there,
Nice game! i like the graphic style and the idea althoug it was not quite clear to me at the beginning what i should do. (probalby add a quick tutorial?) Also i miss some background music as well as a minimap (3d strategy games with a "free" camera always confuse me a little bit.

Muu? says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Well executed turn strategy game. The mechanics are simple but work well.

I didn't understand what AI was doing: sometimes worked well (I got king and one warrior cornered by two warriors) and sometimes was just dumb (the same two warriors kept moving back and forth in the cells near my warrior).

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09pm

@Muu? Yes, the AI is very basic at this point. Currently it only looks at its current turn. So the AI has no "big picture" of whats going on, on the map. To improve it, I would have to implement some kind of MIN-MAX algorithm that looks some turns in the future. But the time ran out...

igpollitzer says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35am

Loved the minimalistic aestethics, but there's nothing else noticeable other than that.

marccspro says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Not to bad

VDZ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Very interesting strategy game. The interface (as a whole, graphics, audio, text) was a bit lacking, though; it was hard to differentiate between moving the king and spawning a soldier (you need to pay attention to the king otherwise you don't notice at all), there's no special attention to a player being wiped out (it sounds like a normal defeat, then you check the board to see a color missing), there's no quick way to check the number of coins/number of soldiers/number of areas of each player, there's no way to scroll across the map (only rotate the camera), it's not always clear which areas are linked to which areas...all kinds of minor issues that drag an otherwise great game down.

The game is great, though, and I'd imagine it would be quite interesting (and a lot more diplomatic) if it were to be played against other players.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Nice simple strategy game, easy to play when you actually see the mechanics working. Congrats!

mcapraro says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:00am

nice style to the game and nice fluid feel to it too

ian_snyder says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:16am

I loved it -- I think I only won because the AI took pity on me ;) I had this playlist as my background music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmAja6hgq_k&list=PL2EFD9040A440A798

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:19am

Cool, and fun game!

ALobker says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Aside from the counter-intuitive scrolling, the game was really good!

01101101 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:09am

Well done! The game is really cool and the rules pretty easy to get. The camera moving when the others are playing gets a bit tiring though. Maybe switching to a fixed top-down view of the board while you're not playing would fix that. Nothing to say other than that, great job!

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:57am

There are a lot of things I like about this entry: the aesthetics, the elegant design, the randomly generated map, functional AI, dwarves. :)

There was a bit of lag running it on Windows. And the game is quite slow paced (especially at the start). Maybe starting with an extra soldier would speed things up.

In its current state I feel like it's missing something - you can simply block the enemy and not enter an tile adjacent to them. It feels like draughts but without enough pieces.

I also ended up with mines producing more gold than I could collect. Having caravans to carry extra gold to the king would be interesting, as they could be intercepted and captured by the enemy.

May 8, 2014 @ 11:45am

Super great concept! All the mechanics work wonderfully, and for me the interface was very clear and intuitive (the camera movements helped a lot, very nice!). The only thing wrong is that the AI is a little bit too stupid (to be expected from a LD game though). It would be awesome as a mulitplayer game though. I especially liked how the king worked; that he had some purpose other than just being something to protect.

Theme is... Well...

fermenter says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:20pm

This could definitely go somewhere. You gotta keep this up.

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Way cool! I won on the third try as I figured out the mechanics along the way. Really impressive for 48h, and done in C++!

Hexadecima1 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I really enjoyed this game. The ai and polish was very impressive for 48 hours. The map being so large did prolong play a little unnecessarily however

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Really cool "board" game ! I loved it :) !

May 15, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Wow very fun game, i love the idea of this game, is very awesome! i love the sounds when moving, the AI is kind of hard too(or i just dont know how to play xD) :D great work!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Yeah, this game barely (if at all) implements the theme, but man is it fun! I can see this working really well as a tabletop game, even. The strategy needed to play it feels just right, movement & expansion is very balanced, and even the AI is pretty darn good! The visual style is especially appealing, as not only does it look good, but makes everything easy to look at / to keep track of, and the camera control is just a joy (as well as being extremely useful). I hope you consider making a multiplayer version of this some time in the near future!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]