Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Germaniac

by Jiddo - Jam Entry

A game about the fear of things below the surface of normal human eye vision

Play as the germ-fearing mr. Fancypants and help him survive his phobia induced panic attack. Avoid the oncoming masses of people who just want to get in contact with him and shake his hand... cuz he's famous, ya know...

Use the arrow keys to guide mr. Fancypants through the town in search of the ultimate sanctuary - the golden porta-potty!

In case someone does catch mr. Fancypants in the corner and starts shaking his hand, tap the space bar to shake the person off.

Use regular porta-potties to wash the germs off mr.Fancypants' hands and give him a bit of a moral and psychological boost, before he completely flips out. While in the porta-potty, use [w],[a],[s] and [d] to control the left hand and the arrow keys to control the right hand.

Look for the hidden hazmat suit to get some serious protection against those pesky germ spreading peeps, but be careful - walking around town in a hazmat suit is like wearing a clown outfit at a funeral.

Pay attention to the bar on the top of the screen - it will show you just how deep down the spiral mr. Fancypants currently is. Get him completely covered with germs and it's lights out.

Credits:
Jiddo, Cnap, Cem - cewd
tofuman - picturz, sewnds and mewsic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Humor(Jam)4.20
#74Audio(Jam)3.84
#117Innovation(Jam)3.62
#154Overall(Jam)3.55
#158Mood(Jam)3.56
#160Graphics(Jam)3.95
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#430Theme(Jam)3.05
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

Very cool game , and idea! Awesome comic and followed the theme well. Great Job! GameGrape Corporation: http://www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

haha, his worldview didnt kill him, the germs did. Or did I
:-O

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Couldn't run on OSX

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Thanks for the comments guys!

Did you get any error message on OSX?

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Fun game! I liked the comic art style.

ahmeni says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:34am

One of the few games i bothered to download because it looked so nice but it doesn't run on OSX 10.9 :(
0 $ java -jar ludumdare29.jar
Failed to find resource natives/maxosx_natives.jar.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: Resource not found: natives/maxosx_natives.jar
at org.newdawn.slick.util.ResourceLoader.getResourceAsStream(ResourceLoader.java:69)
at game.engine.util.LWJGLInstaller.install(LWJGLInstaller.java:42)
at game.LudumDareGame.setupNativeLibraries(LudumDareGame.java:157)
at game.LudumDareGame.main(LudumDareGame.java:73)

Jiddo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:45am

@OSX users:
Sorry about that! So embarassing. Had accidentally made a typo in a file name for the OSX natives. I've uploaded a fixed version now. I hope you'll have more success with that one! :)

lukepilgrim says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:39am

haha, funny game! liked the introduction. there should be a highscore or something...

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Nice game. Very funny idea and good execution!

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I played it on OSX, and it worked beautifully. A really weird game, made even more awesome by the supremely weird music. I'm afraid that poor mr. Fancypants didn't quite make it with me at the controls, but I believe he is in a better place now. u_u

607 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Haha, very nice. I really like the graphics, and the title screen is so good :o
Nice music too, although the sound effects like "well well" got a bit irritating at times :P
I do really like the hand washing mechanic too.

Moosefly says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Crashed once, but other than that a solid game. Nice amount of variation, the graphics and audio were great and the humor very fitting.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

goerp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Great comic graphics especially in the intro. Great take on the theme, very original. 5 star humor.
Never knew washing hands was so hard.

Out of curiosity: the spiral in the background on the opening scene, is that a tribute to Day of the tentacle?

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Very funny!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]