Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Game of Roots

by BubuIIC - Jam Entry

In "Game of Roots" you play a plant, or rather its roots on a quest for minerals and water. The roots can be send down, left and right and, additionally, they can split up. Handling all of the roots simultaneously with the same four keys, collecting water and avoiding poisonous waste is the main difficulty of the game.

Basically the roots always do what you want - except if they can't. Then they do something else, so watch out! With four or more roots at the same time, this can happen quite often.

=====HOW TO RUN:=====
- Windows: unzip and double-click start.bat

- Linux: Needs libsdl, libsdl-mixer, libsdl-ttf, libsdl-image and liblapack3 as dependecies. Then untar and run start.sh. If it does not start, try to run start.sh in a terminal to get an error message. The package should work under *Ubuntu 12.04+/Debian 7. Others might not work.

- OS/X: I got it working under OS/X but you have to use the source version, install python3, numpy and pygame yourself. Bundling a standalone application doesn't work :-(.
Let me know if you have problems.

----- IMPORTANT: If the screen is too big, You can SET THE RESOLUTION and other gameplay parameters in settings.txt

Created during three days with Python3 + pygame, Inkscape, Anvil Music and sfxr
by
Code: Marcus Hoffmann, Eric Zimmermann
Graphics: Stephan Waeldchen, Marcus Hoffmann
Music: Stephan Waeldchen, Eric Zimmermann

Changes:
- Fixed music not stopping in win32 build.
- Added a hopefully much more compatible Linux build. Also added dependency checking in the startup script.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#25Theme(Jam)4.02
#43Innovation(Jam)3.85
#216Fun(Jam)3.26
#252Overall(Jam)3.39
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#426Audio(Jam)2.93
#540Humor(Jam)2.14
#544Graphics(Jam)2.91

Comments

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03am

Wow ! That was brilliant and innovative. Very fun to play.

Energy would deserve a bigger counter imho and also the darkening of the screen would be better if you encounter really darker dirt tiles instead of just darken the background.
Maybe, you should stop the bg music when your gameover sequence play.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Pretty innovative. UI was confusing to understand, however.

Junber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Cool game. Nice to see another one using pygame.

Rock48 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Good Game, Really fun and new.

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Really great and innovative idea!

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

It was fun, the "can't go up" system is pretty nice. It lacks animation, but still, it's a fun game.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Very cool and strange idea! I liked it very much. Gut to Level 527. Good work!

Knowledge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

You created too big screen.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

nice idea! ...I don't see why you'd ever want to use the split function unless you were a masochist though

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Depthscore: 399. And this game certainly has a lot more depth than I first expected - in several senses of the word.

It took me a little while to get used to judging what grid square my root end was in. A root that's just moved down one square looks a bit like it's only gone halfway down - which caught me out at first, I would occasionally overshoot and then find I was too low down and couldn't move back up again. But once I got used to that, I really enjoyed this game. Well done!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Ah, I had similar idea but I wasn't sure if it would work so I ditched it after few minutes of thinking about it - nice to see that someone made it and it works...

Good work (you're the first game in about 20 I've tried that makes me want to try another run)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Pretty innovative game. It's an interesting dilemma weighing up whether to go sideways to get the energy or continue travelling down in the hopes you'll find some more below.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:35am

Pretty cool, but a bit confusing with the gui.

xandgate says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Great idea! Nice realization of the theme

jellyfishlion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Really cool game :)

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Cool mechanic, very innovative!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

That was interesting to play. There's definitely a good tradeoff between the benefits and risks of splitting a bunch. If you're better at the game you can get away with splitting more and thus collecting more stuff with less cost. There wasn't an option to make the screen smaller, though, so I had to hide my taskbar to see the whole thing.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Great fun and pygame! Good times!

BubuIIC says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:32pm

@Knowledge and VDOgamez: You can set the resolution in the settings.txt :-). We set the default resolution relatively high, because the game is more fun if you have more space.

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Please play and rate my game again!
How did you play it firs time(it didn't work)?

ohsqueezy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I like the sensation of controlling many roots at once

Hammervuis says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Great game, thanks!

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Really enjoyed this! The root splitting makes for some pretty strategic gameplay :)

Muciojad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Quite nice entry, very original. I like what you implemented root's behavior "interfering each other". Cool game :)

Katamori says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Nice little game, with cool concept.

Check my video about further explanation.

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:19am

Really fun idea and nice game! Difficult to control so many roots at once!

Waterman7 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This was really good! Nice concept, and really engaging.
I loved infinitely splitting my roots until the whole screen was filled with them. Also, I really enjoyed the music.
And a game about roots gets a bonus by default :D (I made one, too)

Zathnic says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I managed to reach a depth level of 1755 by using only one root and collecting as many stone crushers and energy on the way as possible ;) Not sure if that's how it's intended, but you can really abuse the fact that the game always generates at least one passable path on deeper levels if you have enough energy left!

klianc09 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Pretty fun game. I liked the root splitting although for me there was no reason to split to more than two roots, as having too many roots made it nearly impossible to avoid all the radiactive trash (Who disposes all this trash anyway?). At the end, when you get so deep that nearly everything is rocks, there aren't enough rock breaker pickups so that you could avoid getting stuck.

KuGrou says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Really cool mechanics, though it would be nice if there was more motivation to split roots, such as some mechanic or obstacle that forced the user to split the root.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]