Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lim

by Rabbits... - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I really enjoyed making this game.
It fit very well into my aim.
Its written in Limericks,
Tell me of any thing to fix,
And I hope no one thinks that it's lame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Mood3.85
#394Audio3.00
#503Humor2.50
#607Fun2.96
#672Overall3.07
#783Innovation2.74
#892Graphics2.63
#991Theme2.63
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Interesting game, the characters reminds me of a flea. The background colours and platforms blended into each other a lot though

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

Really enjoyed the mood of the game - length was just right without getting too repetitive. Awesome end!

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

I played until the end, very moody. Nice!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24am

great theme execution. loved the ending. Great Job!

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:09am

So depressing, lovely poetry though, nice work.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Interesting idea and I like the platforming, it was well done. However in the end my character reappeared just to "do it" again.

michelfontes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:31am

nice gameplay and music! But felt very repetitive and whitout a purpose. You jump, and die. and?

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:36am

The platforming reminds me a bit of Nifflas' early stuff (Within a Deep Forest, for one). The controls can be a bit bugged - I was stuck with my character moving right constantly for the first few screens, which made it very challenging indeed!

simplesmiler says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:29am

Looks like your link is down.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Good mood. I'd draw the text in front of the character and clear the input buffer on landing on a surface to fix that extraneous hop.

Kyatric says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Link seems down indeed.

bucketh3ad says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:11am

Never before have I seen limericks used to tell a serious story, let alone within a game. Max points for innovation. Enabling fullscreen in the browser was a great way to add immersion.

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Contrast between the character and the background is a bit too low, maybe it's my fault, trying to read the text at the same time I'm moving. But nice little jumping game. It gets pretty tricky.

ashdnazg says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I'm really fond of limericks and rhyming, so good job!
Your game is a good jumping platformer although it doesn't have exceptionally interesting puzzles. In my opinion the mood that's created by the ominous sprites and darkness together with the existential questions of the limericks don't mix well with the jumping on platforms.
You should work a bit on your composing, a better track could have improved the mood department. (The current track needs some improvement)

I think that existential questions and jumping on platforms don't go too well hand in hand. you might want to focus on one of them in your next games. (I hope it's the questions, you have quite the talent there)

May 17, 2014 @ 1:43am

Nice game! I liked the simple 2D platformer gameplay, and the storytelling was great!

Suese says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:20am

Too many AS3 errors . Doesn't work with AS3 debugging on. I'm not sure how to remove the debugging error messages

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]