Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Funzi Islands

by gingerbeast - Jam Entry

Welcome to Funzi islands! This is our Ludum Dare Jam entry, we've finished with 6 hours to spare and we managed to get some sleep, that seems like a positive outcome to me!

Funzi islands is written in javascript, it uses create.js and jQuery. (with a little bit of PHP to power our high scores).

We have tested the game in chrome and firefox.

We had a great time making the game and we hope that you have a fantastic time playing it!

Our team comprised of four members, 2 of us primarily tackled the code and 2 the music. We then all jumped it to do all the sprite sheets (and there ended up being a lot of those!).

Have fun - GingerBeast

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor(Jam)3.21
#182Audio(Jam)3.48
#210Fun(Jam)3.27
#235Innovation(Jam)3.31
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#458Mood(Jam)2.92
#514Graphics(Jam)3.00
#620Theme(Jam)2.58
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

A bit glitchy, but I feel like that made me like the game more. I felt very unprotected by the game designer from the inner ferocity of the game's power; I hit refresh a million times and the sound looped over itself into an infinite noisescape and then tentacles swarmed the island and I was like WOAH OH NO PLEASE HELP

Four stars.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Pretty fun, music seems to have a glitch where it becomes robotic after a while though, which was a little irritating.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

This game makes no sense... I love it. I didn't really know what to do after I got the boat. What next?

maffydub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice one! I like the graphics, music and sound effects. The game mechanics are pretty good, but I think there's a bug in the logic - I kept on getting prompted to buy a boat even though I'd already bought one (and the boat icon was in the top right). Good fun, though!

atombrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice game. I liked it but it was rather short. I had two issues with it: When I died and restarted the game, I could not walk over the bridges (you probably don't reset the state when resetting the game). I had to refresh the browser window. After the high score screen, somehow 2 music tracks started playing simultanously.

gingerbeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Thanks for the comments guys, and letting us know about a few of the bugs! I've fixed a few of them up, I spent far too long drawing tentacles and not enough time play testing ;-)
After you get the boat, collect more gold, and then use the plane to escape, it should take about 3-4 minutes to complete.

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Highscore!:D Failed it on my first attempt though!:( Dug the music!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

I had a blast - very innovated game. Like it very much.

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:33am

This game is strangely fun. I love the tentacles and the sound the guy makes when he gets hit.

yetanother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:42pm

All this tentacles, I want to eat sushi now.

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Good game

May 16, 2014 @ 12:09am

This is pretty cool! I like the dynamic music and just the concept of an island constantly under siege by giant tentacles. It's cute that you guys all jumped in to do the art at the end, but the art assets did kinda wind up looking like they were done in different styles.

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:22am

Cool music! Makes for a cool, relaxed mood. Game is kinda hard, but once you get used to it, it gets pretty easy to follow. Thanks for the tutorial though :)

loxo says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Great fun to play game with a very unique concept. Sadly I couldn't get enough money to buy a plane, I was always too slow and got caught by the tentacles.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]