Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seamless

by Jeffalisk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Where there's muck there's brass, so get a shift on and head down the mineshaft to coalface number 4 and get drilling. (Much like the South Yorkshire coalfield that inspired it, this is a bedraggled shadow of what might have been, built on the bones of something much bigger. It was originally going to be an RTS-type game but spent too much time building behaviours and logic for the miners and their world so there isn't much in the way of gameplay - I just added direct controls to one of the miners and left it at that. Once you've made it to the drilling machine you've seen pretty much all there is to see, except for some fairly spectacular physics glitches.

UPDATE: Minor bug fix made post-compo to make the tunnelling a bit more stable, but you may still fall off the edge of the map!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#121Graphics3.95
#392Theme3.45
#599Mood2.94
#872Innovation2.64
#909Audio1.96
#1033Humor1.64
#1132Overall2.51
#1227Fun1.85

Comments

rogberth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

Nice graphics. I'm sorry that you couldn't make any more gameplay for the compo! good luck!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

I like the pixaleted graphics!

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

Beautiful! I thought the glitch at the end was a thoughtful image about drilling, or something :).

porglezomp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

It looks really nice, it looks like it has nice potential! What were you planning to do with it?

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Damn man, these graphics are absolutely gorgeous and I love the lighting. Its too bad there isn't more game to be played but I understand how that goes. Mind if I ask if you used any libraries/frameworks/systems on top of base unity to assist with the 2d stuff or is it all your own?

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

I love the art style, I would defiantly play a full game like this, just moving my little person around, doing simple task, seems interesting. Good job :)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01am

Thanks for all the great positive comments!

As minor bug fixes are allowed in the rules, I'll try and do an update soon with some kind of temporary 'floor' object under the tunnel to stop the tiles falling away.

@Minism - For the graphics I used Unity's own 2D sprite and physics systems that were added in 4.3 - these seem a lot more straightforward and less of a hack than the third party 2D stuff, but it was my first time using them and that was one of the things that slowed me down. As you can see I haven't really got my head around the physics yet!

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

The graphics are excelent and create a good mood around the whole game. I wish that you had more to for the gameplay though. Overall, I like it.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

You can always build on this after the compo. I love the graphics!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10pm

As the other users said, the art is wonderful, is a pity you couldn't take it to the next level. Just remember that you can always develop a post-compo version.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

This game really has potential and I think you should definitely continue with it, ended my play through moonwalking in the elevator shaft mind you :P

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Great atmosphere, I gave you the greatest rate on Graphics. I think you should not waste it.

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Something really eerie about the way everything falls apart, shame you didn't get too much in the game, but what you have looks good

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Beautiful graphics, would really like to see what you had planned. Lemme know if it ever gets any further!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

nice graphics and use of music. I hope you will make something even more amazing after the compo. There is quite some potential here (- :

looking forward to see more of it / more games from you.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

The graphics is good. You can give it a try and implement the gameplay.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46am

drill master! as the others already said, cool artstyle and nice concept. Would be interesting what could become out of it...

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Wished there was more. When I was slowly decending the shaft I was hoping for so many things I can encounter in seconds to come. And then came sad truth that everything ends here. Glitches came as a nice consolation prize :) Hope you build on it.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58pm

The graphics are lovely and I love your concept, tunnelling seemed to pose some issues for me wherein the drill started floating upwards and I was sort of sinking into the ground, shame you didn't have time to do more.

eckcz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11pm

graphics are great. really great

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Nice cuppa tea after all that hard graft down t'mine.

Love the pixelart, would have been interesting to see where it could have gone.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Nice graphics, good mechanics, wish it could have turned out a better gameplay!

Techblogogy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:42am

Controls were a bit jerky, but overall nice game

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:52pm

This game really looks good. Good job.

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Well, you already have the base and it's pretty good! Please continue to work on it!

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:00pm

As others stated: Good graphics and mood, but I get stuck and do not know what to do further. Camera instabilities, loss and animation errors also contribute to a bit glitchy feel.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]