Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Operation: Delve

by xgeovanni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Out in the uncharted wilderness lies a cave. this cave serves as entrance to a complex system of caverns, infested with all manner of brute beasts.

It is said that a truly grotesque horror lurks on its twelfth floor, but there are no survivors to tell the tale.

You mission is to infiltrate these caverns and discover the truth of the twelfth floor. Good luck.


This game is best played in fullscreen. Please press f11 before starting the game.

Since people have been asking, I created the music with abundant-music.com

NOTE: The game continues infinitely after floor 12.


EDIT 28/04/14: Fixed the bug in which the game didn't start. Pretty sure that's game-breaking enough to count.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#497Audio2.87
#944Theme2.73
#948Mood2.54
#962Humor1.84
#1000Fun2.47
#1026Overall2.68
#1145Innovation2.17
#1196Graphics1.97

Comments

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55am

Could hear music but game didn't start? Just letting you know.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Character does not follows cursor. Just letting you know

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I loved the music, how did you make it? For some reason it reminded me about some of the old Kings Quest games :) Nice job.

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Got the shotgun but it didn't seem to hit very often. Those spider/ant things are pretty tough.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

The spiders were great, but it's a shame that some of the other graphics, such as the player, weren't so interesting.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

I really like the song!

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

cool idea for moving the character :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I'm not really a fan of this kind of "abstract" graphics(like the player...) but the rest was cool. Control scheme with the mouse worked great. Nice game all in all.

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:23am

Could probably benefit from a more traditional control scheme. Enjoyed the sound design and overall feel.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:26am

Cool concept for a dungeon crawler style game. Liked the different weapons. Not sure how I feel about the movement controls. Overall, good work!

TheOZone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nice game, sometimes the ants were glitching in the walls.

brodavi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Wow fun! :) this is my kinda game. I love the zelda/adventure types of combination/unlocking mechanics. Yeah the AI gets stuck, and yeah the controls are wonky, but I liked it! Great job!

Kragnir says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:59am

Nice game, it should have ended at floor 12, the game is not strong enough as it is to have an infinite amount of floors. The enemies need some work, at the moment the only danger is having enemies spawn on top of you.

The boss was a nice touch but need to be expanded a bit it isn't really a boss in it's current state.

If you are going for a roguelike it is important that put some kind of risk rewardsystem into the game to have the player make some interesting choices.

I tried staying at a level for a bit and the game started lagging, this needs to be fixed.

When I played the game the sounds were mostly pretty quiet they could probably be made a bit louder.

May 13, 2014 @ 3:39am

The music have some trouble.
Simple & long, dangerous combination.
Good work after all :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]