Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seafloor Defense

by Zathalos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defend your underwater base against alien attacks! How long can you survive?

Controls: Left Click

How to Play:
1) Click the center building to make engineers (10 rez).
2) Harvest the purple crystals for resources (rez).
3) Click on the upper left building to build subs (20 rez).
4) Click Build to build buildings.
5) Turrets cost (15 rez) but are weaker than subs.
6) Play to at least wave 10 to win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Overall3.86
#93Graphics4.04
#113Fun3.68
#316Theme3.54
#395Mood3.17
#679Innovation2.89
#849Humor2.00
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

Really lovely work! Very impressive for 48 hours!

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Really polished game. I liked the art. Only made it to wave 6 before totally getting destroyed :)

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

I didn't think I'd see an RTS! Really great for just 2 days! It was a little bit on the easy side, but that's just fine by me (that way, I can actually enjoy the game).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

Amazing work for just 2 days! Really well polished!
The only thing is that I only built towers leaving the 3 guys gather crystals and I made it trough Wave 10 on my first run no problem. You definitely can make it more difficult!

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

I played it and won it only using towers, since I had no clue that I can "produce" new units. A help screen would be awesome and a "throw the next wave at me NOW" button. ;)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15am

Gotta agree with GagaPete, but i still enjoy it a lot. Which is the main point of this :D

colludium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:20am

Good looking game. Enjoyed playing that - excellent for just 2 days of work!!

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

Fun Game. I found it quite easy, just produced a few more engineers and the a lot of subs

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56am

I liked it, kind of easy but still fun. I'm glad you added the ability to continue after you win, I love seeing how crazy the hordes get. Really nice job :)

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01am

Made it to wave 7!
Excellent work for 2 days!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This is amazing, I have no idea how you made such a smooth playing RTS is such a short time. The only featured I'd like to have seen is hotkeys, to build things faster, but I suppose that wouldn't work so well on Android.

I had fun playing this one and wanted to see how big the waves could get... a submarine strategy seemed to work well, and I got to wave 39.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04am

Really love the RTS feel! Has potential.

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Awesome RTS!

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:15am

Fun mini starcraft :D I got to wave 27.
Very good advance for a 48 hours game, you should keep adding stuff :)

Detocroix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:58pm

This was very enjoyable. After wave 30 my subs decided to leave :)

May 4, 2014 @ 8:53am

Lovely RTS!

wdebowicz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I had a fun! You should add button to "next wave" so user don't need to wait if defence is full.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Wow! Pretty impressive! It's too easy so there is no challenge.. but this is just small stain on overall great entry! Really good job on this!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]