Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Advanced Cave Crawler

by josefnpat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Escape the maze and get to the surface... if you can survive.
You find yourself deep under the ground in what seems to be a maze. Get loot! Kill monsters! Navigate the maze!

##Information

Although this game was done solo, I did it at RedBottle Design with the Rochester Indies Anonymous (http://rocia.org) !

While this game appears to be in 3D, it is actually totally faked one-point perspective (which is why you only see up to 9 blocks at a time). LOVE is not a 3D framework, but I really wanted to add something that looked 3D! All of the stats in the lower right can be changed by random events that happen throughout the game.

I will point out that for the compo release: score function doesn't work well (you usually finish the game with 0 points) and it's hard to get gold. I will release a post-compo version at some point fixing these specific issues, but please understand the vision was for the score and gold system to work.

##Tips

Use keyboard arrows & spacebar (or plug in a controller!)
If you attack a monster and you don't have enough defense, it will kill you!
Score is based on gold/time! So hurry up!
There are two types of encounters: good and bad.

* Easy: Good 75% Bad 25%
* Medium: Good 50% Bad 50%
* Hard: Good 25% Bad 75%

## Tools

* Vim
* LOVE 0.9.1
* GIMP
* iNudge w/ arecord
* bfxr

## Source

https://github.com/josefnpat/LD29

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#204Humor3.11
#319Mood3.27
#347Audio3.09
#517Overall3.21
#558Fun3.00
#559Theme3.26
#626Graphics3.05
#899Innovation2.60

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31am

Could you provide binaries? :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

Sorry can't run no web version

josefnpat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

@manabreak Sorry, was still packaging the game. They're up now!

@mrexcessive Please download a binary for your corresponding operating system.

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Pretty good. Felt very streamlines and fast-pased.
Wasn't a big fan of the music but audio was fine otherwise.

Would be nice if monsters were visible so you could plan ahead/avoid encounters if possible, but a lot of fun none the less.

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

The controls were a little bit disorientating and I found myself simply going by the minimap. The beeps and boops were classic, but a little hard on the ears. None of the encounters felt really meaningful and any that did felt out of my control.

Nice technical work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00am

I really like the style. I kinda feel like monster encounters should be more frequent though.

LinusPrime says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

The controls were fluid and fast, great jam game.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

Pretty cool, although on 50/50 and especially hard difficulty exploring the map is pointless because the more you explore the more chance bad stuff will happen.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Pretty fun game. Interesting way to use the Love engine!
~funkeh

wespaugh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

The dungeon crawling elements are definitely there, and they aren't too far from being well-balanced, as is. The changes in art over time were a great touch, and the humour was classic MSS.

I might consider an alternative to the minimap, though. Once I got used to using it, it was all I looked at. Maybe have the compass show the direction to the exit?

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

The music rocks! I enjoyed the humorous popups immensely.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Fantastic. To think you wrote this using vim within 48 hours is incredible.
Some stat tweaks would have made it perfect. Dropping your sword or shield is rather punishing, and gold is too sparce.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04am

Oh boy, a first-person crawler!

The game engine works great. Events got a bit repetitive, especially on the last map where I'd get one Every. Single. Step. I. Made, and seemed obsessed with cracking/breaking my non-existing weapon and shield, but that's fine.

Good fun. Well done!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:05am

Fun Game! The dialogs were AWESOME, haven't beat it yet (still playing) but nice job. Liked the graphics, usually not my thing, but they really worked for this theme I think.

Just wondering, were the things that happened such as "you found (blank) inscribed on a wall" and stuff like that chosen at random times? Or did they happen at set locations? I've told a crazy programmer wants me dead over 5 times now:P

But overall, great game, one of the best I've played so far!

otato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06am

Reminds me of the old dungeon crawlers. I was sad to find that you couldn't see the monsters and felt like I couldn't really do anything to change the outcome of the fights...

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

I liked the music! Game was pretty cool too, it reminded me of the good ol' days!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27am

good job

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34am

neat dungeon crawler, but I had to run from way too many fights due to constantly having my sword/shield "broken" and being basically defenseless most of the time.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:38am

Nicely done! Good to see another theme included.

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

<step>
"You found a shield in perfect condition."
:)
<step>
"Your shield cracks."
:|


Seemed like I could *always* avoid battles if I run away, but never could seem to win them. I was playing "My body is ready" mode.

Really neat graphical trick. I'd love to try making something like this, some time. Your next challenge is to make a raycaster in LOVE. ;)

Rusky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05am

Nostalgia! Reminds me of Dungeons of Daggorath on the TRS-80.

zacaj says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

dat beat

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56am

Impressive.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55am

I just run away from monster, because I did not have a sword when facing one. Good music and a nice game.

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06am

It was pretty fun playing. I liked the music and the controles but the good and bad encounters where missing some visualisation for me. Just a little picture of the vendor, item or enemy you encounter would be great. Later in the game i nearly ignored the encounters and concentrated on the movement only.
Still good job =)

VividReality says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Good job :) Very impressive to think that you made this with vim as a compo. It's a promising game and I hope to see more features in the post-compo. Keep up the good work!

ninjacharlie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Awesome! This game was great :D

It would have been ice to have some graphics for items, monsters and other characters, but other than that, it was really good.

Nice job :D

peterrstanley says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I really enjoyed the game. I like the idea of trying to implement a 3D environment when using a 2D framework. I had a lot of fun with it.

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I think the way you implemented the difficulty settings is quite interesting. Instead of just say changing the probability of defeat or something, the % of good / bad events, when you consider that defeated monsters give you gold... could be interesting.

That said, I'm a huge baby and ran from every monster I saw, taking baths whenever possible. Neat game, though I wish you had a little bit more control over your destiny - I don't know if you're actually being stalked by a big beast or something, but I did sort of feel a bit like I was hunting a Wumpus.

Also, pretty neat to do something like this in a 2D framework. I can think of a really inelegant way to do it, though it'd be cool if there's a little more going on behind the scenes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]