Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Switcher

by ehtd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath the surface of a girl, a dormant beast exists. She has super human abilities and is extremely dangerous. She is an enemy of the State.


Use UP/DOWN for MOVEMENT

Use Z for ACTION

Beast will Punch

Girl will get Extra run boost

__________________________________________________________



v 1.0.0

First complete and playable version!

Created for LudumDare 29 by EhTd

From: http://mokusoftware.wordpress.com

EDIT:
Thank you all for your comments and critics. The game still requires some gameplay adjustments and I will take your advise into consideration to make this game a lot better.

Thank you for your time!

EDIT 2:
A new version of Switcher(post-compo) is available. I tried to take into account all your comments for this new version. Thank you all!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#225Graphics3.73
#562Innovation3.06
#585Humor2.40
#736Mood2.79
#772Fun2.77
#774Theme3.00
#775Overall2.95
#1004Audio1.63

Comments

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

I had a lot of fun playing around with this game. The art style is awesome as well. Great job

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Wow I love the feeling of the horde chasing you!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

Really fun to play, love the art. Also it took me a while, but I laughed pretty hard when I noticed the flash :)

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28am

Controls feel a bit slow, and the amount of rocks thrown at you incapacitates the monster almost instantly.

Other than that, it's fun!

seanographies says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

I really like the visuals of the game!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

Really cute graphics! Controls weren't quite as responsive as I would have liked though.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

Really hard, but I really enjoy the concept of the game!

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

Nice art, punching as the monster doesn't seem super helpful because you switch at random and so would rather just always have the speed boost? Nice implementation though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

Great graphics. The controls were a little floaty for me. A fair game overall.

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

This is really neat! I love the angry mob.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

This is a neat concept, and I really like the use of the theme. The difficulty's a little frustrating, as trying to both dodge rocks and punch enemies at the same time is tough, and makes me less likely to take advantage of the beast.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29am

That mob... and always running out of energy so quickly. Really nice game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

The idea is awesome. But a couple of more creatures with different abilitys would have been really nice. The game is really good anyways!

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I did it, it was easy. Cool concept and art.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Neat ! Feelings are really good thanks to the nice gameplay and the perfect pixel art ! You did a really good job, congrats !

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Must have been the best looking game i have played today! Thanks for this.

ninjabit says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Love the art!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I love your pixel art style, really nice!

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Fun game, love the art, very difficult.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Cool! Love the art, and the mechanics are so smooth and intuitive. Agree with others that the controls could be more effective and precise, but maybe that's a tradeoff!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

The art is fine, but the controls of the girl feel a bit slow. I liked the angry mob hunting the player.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12am

Really great character designs! Nice and simple little game :)

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Really cool, creative graphics and game idea. Could have used sound, but otherwise very well done!

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Hah! Great concept. The art is awesome. With more things & variety, this might turn out to be a really cool mobile game.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

I had fun playing this. It was super difficult! I would have liked to have some audio, and If you draw the sprites with their z-ordering based on their Y-axis position, you won't get overlapping issues. Nice job :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

Good stuff! awesome graphics, really unique gameplay i had a similiar beast/person idea for the "you are your own worst enemy" theme :)

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:39am

Damn those rocks! Good game. It hooks you and makes you want to give it one more go.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:58am

I like the art style. Cool game.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08am

The art is cool, but the game felt very unbalanced. The duration of the stun is too long, the energy replenishing system is not fun, and the game is more about luck (as in, "lucky not to get hit by a boulder") than about skill.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:04am

"WIN!!" D:
That was quite hard! I wanted an end screen D:
Lots of fun and quirky art style. Great work!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:41am

ha! endless runner with a twist. Like!!! I'll play this some more :)

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:34am

Great concept, i really like the art style as well

May 1, 2014 @ 3:40pm

It's not quite satisfying to control, but I think the idea is good and the way the crowd chases you works really well.
Really nice visual style, it just looks awesome.

GFM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Nice use of the theme.
I really liked the idea, but felt the game was kinda unfair... It's too hard to stay close enough to punch people without being hit, but you can't stay far away enough (you'll spend all you stamina, sometime) ... If you could punch down the projectiles (even if this was really hard), I think the game would get fairer.

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Very interesting idea! Maybe making a platformer or action game based on this idea will be pretty cool.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

The concept is interesting but the gameplay needs some twieaking. Getting too close is too dangerous cause you will lose as soon as your turn into a girl. The only possible thing to do is run but you can't run that much so there isn't much you can do.

The graphics are lovely!

v_n_j says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

At first I thought it was fun. But then I found that when you get too close to crowd you can clip one of runners and take him sliding with you, taking huge amount of damage =/ Maybe it's just me and no one else have trouble with this, but for me that bug (I believe it's a bug, and not intended) ruins the game completely.

neekobus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very interesting mecanics, nice transformation !

Some critics :
- It takes me some times to understand the rocks and the stunned state.
- When I exit the stunned state, sometimes a take another rock. And I die. It's frustating.
- You should add obstacles on the road.
- Maybe you should add a gauge for the transformation. And then you can add powerups to rise or lower the gauge.

Curious to see the evolution of the game !

Mase says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I like the idea & the art has potential but could be better.

The transformation sequence looks cool in your main screenshot but I didn't notice it much in the game... maybe it plays too quickly or something.

I think some corpses could really dress up the graphics... instead of destroyed enemies just blinking out of existence.

Also, the most effective tactic seemed to be moving from the top to the bottom and back repeatedly while holding down z the entire time... which didn't require a lot of finesse or focus.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I like the idea and the transformation sprites but it's a little to simple for me

JimmyBoh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I really like the art, and the gameplay is a great idea. It did seem like the girl's sprint was under-powered.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Hurray, I made it! Super cool pixel-art, well done!

Who is throwing those things? :)

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

nice art.

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

The concept is cool !
little hard to play.
The graphics are really nice (:

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:39pm

very nice sprites :)

May 2, 2014 @ 2:45am

I liked the art and the mechanic kept me playing. I wish the energy would regen slowly to indicate how it works. I wasn't sure if getting hit with a bullet was how that happened... for quite a while!

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:04am

An ocean of angry limbs and jaunty knees, it was a grand feeling swinging my Huge Arms and justifying my pursuit.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:38am

This is fun! I love your character design and concept. It seems like the most important change to make is to either have the transformation not be random--which cuts down a little bit on the "uncontrollable transformation" feeling, which I generally think is cool and explains why the mob is chasing the girl--or, alternatively, to make the game more about managing whatever state you currently happen to be in. Rolling with the transformations, as it were.

That said, I probably played about 20 or more times before I got too frustrated, so good job. It's an addictive little piece.

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:49pm

The transformations, and the endlessly pursuing mobs are a nice touch~

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:35pm

funny game!

Pixlexia says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Great game! Really love the pixel art.

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:45am

Interesting game, to be honest! Nice play on the concept, and the gameplay is pretty fun.

orangepascal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:30am

love the graphics! really nice

Raiyumi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:04am

Not bad! Too bad there's no music or sound, but the graphics are nice. :)

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:56am

I found the energy build up really slow. Would have been cool to be able to punch back the balls if you timed it correctly. Also would have been better to ave control over the transformation and have certain obstacles that only girl or monster form could get past like a long jump or a stone wall etc.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:22am

The idea was really amazing and original, but i think the execution was just good.
Maybe if you made possible to move on x-axis it would have a little more feeling of freedom

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:24am

Love the graphics, innovative and fun!

Oye Beto says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:43am

Simple mechanic but it works.
Some times I wished I could transform whenever I wanted. If you keep the auto-transform (which is cool too), there should be some feedback or rhythmic indicator to know when the transformation is coming. AI polish would be nice too (like different behaviors).

Bekokstover says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:28am

A tough one, but great concept.

DragonXVI says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:51am

Win! Nifty little game! Love the way the crowd flocks together. Didn't seem to have a lot of run energy but the punching was good. Would be cool to have a bit of feedback on punching the crowd.

Katamori says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice one!

Jools64 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:31pm

This is a really cool looking game with interesting gameplay. I really liked the idea of having two different forms with different play styles. It did however feel a little too hard or maybe I was just missing something. Either way, great work!

thaaks says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I liked the art style. Control is not as smooth as I would have preferred. Avoiding the cannons/balls is a tad too difficult. But nice little game and great idea!

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice idea, love the pixel style. Controls felt a little unresponsive for me, and I wasn't sure why the girl's boost seemed to cut out for no reason (not being hit by a rock)

zebi24 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Pretty fun and great pixel art. Nice job! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:45am

really nice game here - took a bit to get used to the mechanics but very good - nice job

Crooksister says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:59am

Awesome art :) I feel it needed more than the crowd throwing things at you... like obsticles :)

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Quite hard, but really liked the mechanic. Great style too!

Kerdelos says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:40am

The art is really awesome. But I find the game really difficult. I would have preferred to be able to switch whenever I want. Because here when you are the monster you can not attack people without being sure to get a rock in your face.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I had a lot of fun with this one, but couldn't win! I would happily pay to see a game where this is the final level.

May 10, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Neat idea for a game. Would keep polishing it up. Could be a lot of fun.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:45pm

No sound:( I liked the graphics.

ZYXer says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I like the graphics. It would be nice if there was a way to keep score, like how many seconds you survived, because it seems to me that it's quite impossible to beat the game.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:21am

Pretty cool

ThingoStudios says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:00pm

This game has the same problem a lot of horde games do; the enemies all eventually move towards the same spot and make it too easy for you to eat them all in one go.

I loved the graphics in this game. Personally I would have allowed for horizontal movement on your part, but it's still fun without it.

klianc09 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Great pixelart. The game is pretty hard, would have liked to be able to move left and right for easier punching the enemies.

tomvert says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Love the art :)

2HitAdam says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Super cute graphics, I played the post-compo version and the look and music are great! Really interesting gameplay, bit easy though, I feel like you could go far if you expanded this design!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:23am

Avoiding damage was hard or I guess that these types of games aren't exactly my cup of tea.. :-)

ErikU says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:43am

I like the concept. The strategy seemed optimal to me when running top to bottom as the girl, and then punching the center to get some breathing room as the monster. In any case, well done, especially with the art.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]