Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Like a Bird in the Sea

by Volute - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I thought I wouldn't be able to participate this time because I had a lot of work to do this week-end. But the theme was really nice so I took some time on my Sunday to work on a LD entry.


It's an exploration game where you talk to various NPC and dive in the sea to help them. I'm happy with the result in relation to the much shorter time than usual I spent on it. I had fun writing the NPC. I had very few bugs to deal with. And I was able to implement all the story I had in mind.

My only regret is not to have been able to work on the sound part because it would have added a lot to the game. But it was to be expected! I'll probably make an extended version with some work on moody sound effects and a background music, a title menu, a restart option, sound control, a preloader and more graphics.

I hope you'll enjoy the game!



HINT: there are several oxygen pockets under the sea. Find them and use them!

HINT/SPOILER:
Can't find the keys?
Go to the right shore (where the character with the hat and the kids are). Enter the water from there. Go down. When you've passed the first tunnel that goes to the right, follow the wall at your right until you see an oxygen pocket. Go get the oxygen. You'll see the keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#162Theme3.74
#171Mood3.55
#267Graphics3.64
#381Overall3.35
#456Humor2.57
#596Fun2.97
#637Audio2.61
#757Innovation2.79

Comments

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

There dosn't appear to be any links to play it?

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

I cannot see a link

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

Hmm screenshot looks interesting, wish I could play...

Volute says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

Sorry, I forgot to put http:// in the link and it didn't work. You should have access to the game now.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

I like it. Talking to the characters is fun and I liked the diving mechanic. It was a little weird hearing the wind underwater though! Good job on this.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

The dialogues are very funny, enjoyed them. These "hold the breath" games somehow manage to scare the crap out of me every time. Nice job!

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Beautiful pixel art, nice mood, :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

The wind sound was very moody, but a bit weird that it played while under water. The game is a bit hard. I liked that there were actually a bit of conversation with choices- Good job.

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

The dialogue is fantastic! Great job with this! I love the little details throughout it. The black background was sort of sinister xD

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Enjoyed exploring underwater. The art style was adorable.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

I like this swimming animation :D
I didn't really understand where i have to go ... I found a place to take breath, then died trying to find another one ... I met two guys but died before I finished toread what they were saying ^^

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

A lot of fun, and kind of refreshing.
Nice questing system, though it might be nice to see your current quest or something.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

nice simple style, dialogue choices are cool too. I think there should be a way to regain oxygen under water, i found it quite hard to swim back to the surface [but maybe that was intentional??], or I just did not get far enough to figure that out

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Nice simple game. Thanks.

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Really great job, I really like the style. I used Phaser as well!

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

OMDOG! Great game! Gave the chills in some moments! I also wonder what is beneath the surface... Grats!

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

lol I played this the whole way through, was super enjoyable. Beautifully weird story and great artwork!

Volute says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Thanks for the comments :)
@TomBoogaart there are water bubbles at several places under the sea.

Volute says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

*I meant oxygen pockets :)

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Enjoyed it. Liked the dialogue a lot. Had a hard time finding oxygen pockets.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Very very nicely done!

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13am

Gorgeous game, very moody, I found one air pocket but was unable to get any farther, really liked the style though:)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice little game, congrats!

I wasn't able to find the keys :(

Volute says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Thanks for the comments :)
I've added an hint on how to find the keys.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

LOVE IT! I would totally pay for a full version of this, with a bigger map and more NPCs!

The graphics are beautiful and the audiodesign works well even though it's simple.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:52pm

This was great, I love the way it looks, the characters and dialogue are really nice. I just wish I could explore without the constant worries about oxygen supply, as I wasn't able to find many air pockets. It seems like a really great little world that I would like to spend time in

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]