Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine Simulator

by Galan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ever wanted to be a sub. No? You wanted to be a goat? Too bad. You're a sub.

There are two secrets to be found. Look for them.

Controls:
WASDRF-Move
Mouse-Look
Left Mouse-Operate claw, other???

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#531Audio2.82
#589Humor2.39
#607Theme3.21
#658Overall3.08
#719Mood2.81
#751Innovation2.80
#794Graphics2.80
#991Fun2.48
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

Cool idea, but I like the claw mechanic ! The graphics are also impressive. Nice colors, matching with the environnement.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

It's cool to see a game made with the Blender game engine! I wasn't able to find the secrets though.

Johan Eklund says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Hey you named your game the same as mine! :P

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

The game gets boring when you are playing for a while, try adding more powerups or something more rewarding for the player. Mood on this game is good, but honestly I think I don't know what I'm doing 40% of the time

dpulrich says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Heh, I like your entry description.

Anyway, this is a pretty cool game. Nice job

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Crashes on launch. Win 7 x64 AMD

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I get the feeling people are missing the secrets (they probably need to be more obvious for this kind of game), so I'm going to give some hints: try using your face on a weapon, then use that to find the other secret.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53pm

There was something creepy about this game, maybe it had to do with how I was expecting it to be just an underwater game, then there's evidence of a civilization down there, whoah. I didn't find the secrets though.

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

First time I played..it annoyed me.. But I gave another shot and spent several minutes playing this. I found a secret but I'm not sure if I found the 2nd one.. The music is great!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

I really like the sense of mystery that comes with this game, I enjoyed exploring around and the sounds of the robot-hand made me smile (:

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10am

Just one question, which library did you use?

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10am

The Linux version is NOT a submarine simulator...

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

Nice graphics, bit confused without instructions/demo/anything in the game.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Cool game.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Sounds are SUPER FUNNY. My whole family laughed. It's nice to see Blender game engine in use.

ccglp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Graphics are cool, and the claw mechanic is quite interesting!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]