Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Miner Matter

by HeyChinaski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It sure is a tough life pulling minecarts around. The deadlines are pretty strict but you can't drive too fast or you'll spill valuable gold and gems all over the mine.

Press D to go faster, A to slow down and reverse.

Please consider downloading rather than running in the applet. The performance will likely be bad and if you have a newer version of Java you'll have problems with the security settings.

I know, there's no sound. Sorry about that.

This seems to run pretty well on Windows. On Mac and Linux you'll probably need to set a few jvm flags:

----- Linux Users -----:

I'd recommend trying the following two options:

java -Dsun.java2d.opengl=true -jar miner_matter.jar

or

java -Dsun.java2d.xrender=true -jar miner_matter.jar

----- Mac Users -----

If the game runs pretty slowly try this:

java -Dsun.java2d.pmoffscreen=true -jar miner_matter.jar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Fun3.70
#124Overall3.75
#136Humor3.33
#139Graphics3.91
#258Theme3.61
#333Innovation3.39
#530Mood3.00
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:58am

That's a cool game - it's so simple yet fairly hard to complete!

Deity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

Nice, a little too easy roll though and a bit to hard to correct orientation while in the air

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

I tried to run the applet but something about my security settings wouldn't run it, but I was able to run the jar and I can say it was enjoyable! I had fun putting the pedal to the metal and watching the physics freak out. XD

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

I had quite a bit of fun with it! While a physics-based game, it was whacky and got more challenging as it went. I got up to level 8 before I put in the towel. I think music would help the mood though, but still a fun experience.

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

This was a good one. Lifted our spirits after we failed. Funny watching the guy rolling over and spinning out of control, ending with a giant pile of carts rolling down the tracks.

The miner himself and his wide eyes are funny enough to make you like him, even though he's not even mentioned.

Good work!

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Hah this is cool! I actually really like the graphics and the quirky physics :D good job

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

I love you, and your physics.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Cool game, the physics are weird. I did a double backflip over one of the jumps.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Excellent physics, nice graphics - my only complaint would be the lack of sound, it gives depth!

Robert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Nice and Addicting game !

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I cant play your game =\ tried the java applet version with chrome

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

I love seeing games like this one on ludumdare, feels rewarding and the overall concept is really good. You did a great work!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24am

I really like the graphic style. Too bad there is no sound.
Simple yet addictive game like i'd like to see more. Good job.

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Hah! Very innovative, it's nice to see something different!
The physic is wonky, but it's cool and fun to play!

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Haha that was cool! nice unique mechanics too, Also not sure if intentional but i was able to keep riding after rolling the guy upside down.

CrackedP0t says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:05am

The physics can get bizarre, but that's all part of the fun!

rephus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Hey dude, it's nice to see you around. Your games are getting better, you look like a pro now; nice physics and animations, it fits the topic, the 8-bit sprites are superb and the game is quite addictive. I only missed some music or sound effects. Cheers

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]