Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oh My Oilrig!

by manabreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

POST-COMPO RELEASE AVAILABLE IN GOOGLE PLAY!
--------------------------------------------
I've continued to work on this, and the first release version (v0.9) is now available in Google Play! Just follow the link and let me know what you think!

Also, follow me on Twitter (@dManabreak) to keep updated on new patches. :)

--------------------------------------------

So, here's my LD29 compo entry, "Oh My Oilrig!". I skipped the compo last time, but couldn't miss this one!

Oh My Oilrig! is a tower-defense game in which you command oilrig workers and try to defend the rig while precious oil is drilled. Unfortunately, there's some guys who want you to stop drilling it (environmentalists, pffft!), and that's why you have to build defenses. :)

The game is made with libgdx and Java, so you'll need Java runtime to play it. Eclipse was used for coding and debugging, GIMP and Inkscape for graphics, and Psycle, Audacity and Oggdrop for music.

------------
INSTRUCTIONS
------------
Left mouse button selects a worker. When a worker is selected, right-clicking on an empty turret space will command the worker to walk there. When a worker is at the turret space, a building menu shows up where you can build a turret. While building, the worker is busy and cannot be moved.

Building turrets costs oil, though, so place your turrets carefully! And I think the attacking boats get more angry the deeper you drill...?

-----------
OTHER STUFF
-----------
Nothing else to say besides THANK YOU for playing, rating and commenting. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#278Audio3.21
#312Fun3.33
#440Graphics3.33
#484Overall3.25
#570Humor2.42
#719Innovation2.84
#730Mood2.80
#916Theme2.78

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Hi there, I just played you game. It however crashed shortly after I build my first defense thingy. Here is the command line output if it is helpful to you.

Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.manabreak.ld29.ComponentPlatform.buildingDone(ComponentPlatform.java:191)
at com.manabreak.ld29.SingleLaserDefense.update(SingleLaserDefense.java:68)
at com.manabreak.ld29.ComponentPlatform.update(ComponentPlatform.java:123)
at com.manabreak.ld29.Oilrig.update(Oilrig.java:171)
at com.manabreak.ld29.Scene.update(Scene.java:88)
at com.manabreak.ld29.GameScene.update(GameScene.java:75)
at com.manabreak.ld29.Game.render(Game.java:42)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:206)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

Kaoin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

Pretty fun game! If you update this I'd like to see more enemy and turret variety, gaining resources for destroying a boat, upgrades, maps etc. Otherwise a solid game in under 48 hours!

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

The way I constantly had to keep rebuilding towers was an interesting spin on the tower defense formula. Fun game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

This is a pretty cool little game. :)
Very neat and clean graphics.
All this needs now is a larger variety in turrets/enemies, and it would be an incredibly addicting game. :)
Well done.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29am

Cool concept for a tower defense game. Great artwork, music and sounds. The workers are designed in a way that would let them have some nice comedic reactions. It'd be fun to see where you take it from here. I can imagine that as it goes onwards that you'd unleash worse and worse things from the ocean trying to stop you from drilling, so you'd need bigger and better weapons to deal with it, as in any good tower defense game. Anyhoo, good job!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

Wow, either I don't play many games or this seems innovative. I haven't actually seen a tower defense type of game from this perspective.

Excellent job :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

I see a lot of potential in this! Fun and simple as it is, but I agree with OhFiddleDiddle and FyberOptic. Nice work!

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

Realy nice twist of tower defence! Liked it very much!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

Very well done! Liked the ocean wave effect. Graphics are very slick. A simple feature that would add more strategic depth (pun intended) would be having the workers slowly repair the turrets while they stood there. Then you can shuffle them around to keep turrets alive longer when all of your turret spots are full and there's nothing else to do.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12am

@JavadocMD: If you look at the source (please don't, it's messy!), there's tons of code already written for repairing. :)

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

Really great start at a turret defence!

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice game. I really liked the graphics and the audio. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05am

Nice audio. Unfortunately in current state the game gets repetitive soon :)

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Needs looots of weapons, bonuses upgrades and other stuff. But, u like it :D

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I enjoyed the constant repair of the towers mechanic. Nice art. Really cool work!

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I really liked it, but you should add some option for repairing the things, and maybe some kind of station to drill faster. Well done!

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

This crashed on me once, but played ok the second time. I love your graphics they have a real polished look.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Very well presented and polished for an 48h game! A bit limited in terms of strategic choices. After about 500m the game didn't seem to get more difficult anymore.

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Fun game, but become too easy once you get the third guy.
After that I simply oneshot every boat, and gathered tons of resources :D

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

The 1st ship comes before I have time to build anything, which is a bit annoying.

Also I don't see any reason to be able to select ladders, and it would be nice if the worker stood next to the tower instead of on top of it in order to make him easier to select.

csanyk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

Seems like if I right clicked in the game window when I *wasn't* controlling one of my guys, the game would just abruptly exit.

It didn't have a whole lot of depth (lol) and the pacing could have been improved. I felt like I had to spend too much time waiting for resources so I could build. Maybe I just wasn't very good.

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

I liked it! For some reason, though, when I clicked the build icon, the workers often wouldn't do anything. In one case, the clock popped up to indicate he was working, but the turret never appeared.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21am

Larger variety would be great. All in all a very nice game

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice little defense game. It was hard at first to get my own turrets to work, and the enemies had already destroyed me when I understood what to do. Took me a few tries but managed to get stuff to work eventually. :) Audio was great!

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice little game we got here!
I hope you expand it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50pm

nice entry.. took me awhile to realize i had to right click to get him to move ( i should read the directions hah) good work :)

Belvar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Cool protoype with great potential. The graphics looks very good.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56pm

I think you need to give the player a bit of time before the boats appear. I had already taken a few hits before my worker even started on the tower.

Otherwise, pretty nice. Obviously more variation would be better, but that's an issue a lot of compo games have given the time limit :P

Nice work!

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Great concept ! There is a lot potential for the game to be continue. Gratz !

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I really enjoyed this game. Nice job!

Perhaps some more turrets or turret upgrades would have helped with the 'strategy' aspect of the game, but regardless, awesome!

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Hi there. Quite nice game! I like the music. Some more turrets would have been nice. Also the turrets shot on the ships while they were outside my screen. I don't know if that is intended or just some problems with my resolution.

Anti says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Awesome game! Really well made for 48 hours!

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:20pm

This is a very cool game, great graphics, cool music and interesting game-play. I think it would have benefited from some more enemy types and weapon types but still, fantastic job!

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Seems like a good base for something fun! Nice work for 48h

May 6, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Curse those peace-loving do-gooders. May they be eaten by sharks.

... You know what this game needs? Trained sharks. Head-mounted laser beams optional.

Good execution. If you were to keep going, you might want to consider giving turrets some kind of bonus when a worker is on them; would add more strategy to the placements and stuff.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:05pm

This was pretty well done and nicely polished. You should definitely build on this and add upgrades and whatnot to make it really replayable.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:16am

Nice idea with good graphics and sound. The implementation is however not so smooth. Often my workers do not do what I want them to do this makes it unneccessarily difficult. The balancing seems to be also not very polished. But good starting point. Could be a really fun game when polished up.

klianc09 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Really liked the music and was a lot of fun, just missing some depth.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]