Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Root cause

by oal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD. The game was made with Phaser.js, and is playable in the browser. Grow your plant as big as possible, and make sure to collect enough water!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#74Innovation3.98
#122Theme3.82
#208Mood3.48
#221Overall3.56
#322Fun3.31
#611Graphics3.09
#646Audio2.60
#763Humor2.16

Comments

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

I got 516 days, 14274 energy score. I really like the challenge in trying to balance water and energy usage--it's frustrating at first but once you get going it's pretty rewarding, and then the challenge becomes sustainability.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Nice concept. The root effects were nice.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

Really cool concept! I think it would be worth exploring this more.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

Very relaxing, very easy once you get the basic tree going and watch that you balance stays positive. Cool presentation & idea!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57am

I like it... It took a few turns to survive past 20 days, then I realised what what going on, and made quite the healthy little bush...

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21am

Really like your idea. One of the most interesting interpretations of the theme.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

Great game, though little easy after a minute. :)

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29am

Nice :) Took a few turns to figure out how to grow roots (by clicking on the water) but after that it was pretty straight forward! Would be nice if a part of the plant could be marked to die off, so if you grew too quickly part of the plant could die off...and then become more sustainable. Mind, could make it too easy too.

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

First time round I blinked and my plant was dead. Great little game, although I had to mute it as the music was a bit overpowering.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

Really loved this one. Cool idea, neat graphics, decent audio. Too bad its getting too easy pretty fast, even if you make mistakes. But thats balancing, and it takes alot of time, so im not too displeased with that.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

The animations are really nice.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

nice game - survived 303 days - i'd like if leafs would fall off, if there is not enough water

Kimba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

You did a good job but it isnt a challenge

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

I love the concept. You should add something more, otherwise it's a big waiting game after awhile when you're balancing.

Got the tree quite big! 2104 days passed and I just stopped there.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

208 days! It's hard to get into, but really interesting to play! Nice job

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Nice game, and nice take on the theme.
What did you use to make the music? The sound effect was a bit repetitive after a while but that didn't stop me from playing

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far!

For the sound effects I used Bfxr, and for the music I used LMMS (Linux Multimedia Studio). The music was just about the last thing I added, and as you can hear, I'm not a musician. Some random key pressing and something called "Arpeggio", and boom, I had some ambient background music. :-)

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very nice ! The concept deserve to be upgraded, but the base is here :). The difficulty is nice and it can be played for hours :).
Summary, a great seed has been planted :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

I normally don't have a green thumb when it comes to plant life..

.. same problem here, I got it going good.. but was too greedy, I grew so many leafes, that in the end the water respawn was just not enough to sustain my tree.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:18pm

After struggeling on the first few tries I figured it out and it was fun to play. Were there any ultimate goal or just going on "forever"? Cool idèa, neat game :)

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Retested with sound this time. Pretty "space'd up" music and sounds, made me laugh :D

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I like it a lot. It's a unique concept and works very well. I quickly exhausted my water resources though, so I suppose it also teaches you a lesson - not to expand beyond the resources return rate hehe...

atterday says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

This game is very cool. I got too greedy though and my awesome plant with loads of leaves died of thirst. Thumbs up!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

This is really cool, one of my favorites of the compo so far

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

Very nice atmosphere. A bit to easy once you got the balance going.

A bit hard to start. Took my a while until I figured out how to click the water tiles.

What are stems good for?

It would be very cool if the tree grows bigger and had more branches.

You should definitly work more on it and polish it up.

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42am

Very interesting, peaceful game. I like the concept a lot. Enemies like worms eating the roots could have been cool !

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48am

Interesting concept, good job for a first LD, keep it up !

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very nice game!

Melondonut says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:33am

oh...it feels like that I'm the one who don't get the overall concept....

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:07pm

The mood is what I like about this game. No pressure once you figured out how it works. Nice entry.

GFM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Nice game. :)

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:49am

The rate of natural water replenishment could not sustain my ridiculous rate of growth. I expanded to cover the map, and then perished. I would not make a good plant.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I like the idea a lot. Strangely compelling. After a while I was praying for rain but it didn't come ;)

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Cool idea with nice execution, I enjoyed playing it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]