Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blowing up the surface

by Thinkofdeath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Try and get the highest score within the 60 second time limit. Once your time is up the game will pause (sorry ran out of time for something more interesting). To play again just refresh the page.

You will get more points from things underground instead of things (like birds) on the surface.

My highscore is: 3159729

This was programmed in Java using GWT.

I hoped I could of done more with this but I ran of ideas of where I should take it. Next time I should plan a bit further ahead than just "Destructible terrain".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#202Fun3.50
#723Audio2.44
#774Theme3.00
#822Graphics2.75
#830Overall2.90
#899Mood2.60
#969Innovation2.50
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

This is a cool concept. I think you should try and make something more of this. Cool feel.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Surprisingly satisfying to blow up everything! Would have loved to have some enemies or similar / another lose-condition. Enjoyed it!

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice job! I like that you can blow anything up, not just for digging :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Love the madcap destruction! More!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

I thought the game felt pretty good.

I wish that running out of time was more announced, like with a sound effect, screen or something.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I think this is a really cool tech demo waiting for a game, it was still really fun as it is though

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:55pm

The joy of Destruction!!

May 4, 2014 @ 11:21am

Fun! Only got half of your score though. Nice game. :)

muumeroinen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:24am

Boom Boom Boom Boom Boom! Fun :)

Hippolyta says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:37am

Nice game. Destroying everything is just a lot of fun. Its a bit odd that the game starts directly - a screen showing the controles and with a play button would be less hectic.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:21pm

This is a really nice start, but it devolves pretty quickly into a random click-fest. I would play an expanded version of this.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]