Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Drowning Man

by stoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Drowning Man is trapped beneath the ice of a frozen river. You must help him swim to safety, avoiding the nasty looking fish and floating debris. Guide him to the holes in the ice to help him survive.

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/27/the-drowning-man/

Built using JavaScript and Phaser. Graphics drawn by hand, photographed and messed around with in GIMP. Music composed using Reaper.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#154Audio3.49
#249Theme3.62
#421Humor2.63
#431Mood3.13
#640Overall3.10
#743Fun2.81
#826Graphics2.74
#843Innovation2.67

Comments

valgriz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

I like it,
Its simple, plays well and I like the music.
Good game

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

The holes might be a bit too far apart? I never managed to rest in more than one of them in a round. The fish monsters are cute, though!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

The music is so appropriate!

The game's a little hard (no thanks to the evil piranha).

stoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Thanks! It was way too easy so I tweaked the difficulty just before the deadline but didn't properly test it. I may have tweaked too much!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Cool, simple game! And an original concept :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Great audio, and cool take on the theme. Fishes were a bit too hard to avoid. With a couple more obstacles, maybe a couple different 'themed levels' this could be a cool infinite runner type game.

thinkster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I liked the idea, and with a bit of tweaking of the difficulty I think it would be even more fun. I would like to see the holes closer together and you have less time overall for each breath!

maffydub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Simple idea, but effective. I like the fish art, although their attack patterns are occasionally very mean! ;)

Nice music!

Moebius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26am

Nice game! The music is also very fiting. Well done!

Pete_H says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

That music is brilliant :) The controls felt slightly stiff. Apart from the really enjoyed it!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Really great music! :) Simple and nice gameplay, solid work. The holes could have restored a tiny bit more of oxygen, but that's a minor complaint. :)

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

The gameplay is well executed! Good work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Fun game, I really enjoyed the text at the end of the game. Kept playing it over and over again just to see it!

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I really like the idea. The graphics are full of character, I especially loved those pesky fish!

The music was great too. :)

A lot of fun, also bonus points for the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy quote! :D

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice! Though it seems like the collision detection is a little to liberal, especially near the back of the player.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Nice! Though it seems like the collision detection is a little to liberal, especially near the back of the player. Great music!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:16am

Fun game and the music is fitting. The reaction to the controls are a bit to slow for me. That is maybe just tast. Nice game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:35am

Really nice interpretation of the theme, and I like the mechanics. Maybe the player could stick a bit more near the holes cause I passed lots of them due to the inertia.

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:18am

I liked the music a lot, but it was a little difficult to play because you can barely see what's beneath the ice. (I know that's what this is all about, but still...). The controls are really well balanced, but I found the movement of the fish to be a little bit too fast (when they quickly charge in your direction).

Quite nice game overall. Good job! :)

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Haha dark! Nice concept!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Really nice concept, good game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

Luis Anton says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Good job! You should explore this idea a bit more, as in trying to break the ice or something in order to survive.

stoo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Thanks for everyone's comments, glad you enjoued the game! I'm taking them all on board and planning a post-LD update to the game.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Good idea, and those fishes look really cool. I liked the music too, but could also do with some sounds to tell you what's happening (whether you are taking in the breath or slowly drowning) if you decide to develop it further.

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Very cool mood in this one, and I especially liked the game over text and that it changed each time (since I had to see it enough times haha). I think it's pretty solid, but it did feel a bit too random at times: the fish were erratic and hard to judge, the holes would often have planks of wood in them, and sometimes I'd get a whole heap of holes or none at all -- just felt a bit punishing sometimes! Overall great job though, +points for character :)

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Well done. It's simple, and easy to pick up, but fun to keep playing as well.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:28am

I would like this to have a proper background story- why do I want to swim beneath the ice? Do I want to get to somewhere or to someone?
I like the music, it's really catchy.
The graphics are mostly OK and do their job. The swim animation of the player would simply look better if the gradient wouldn't be flipping sides with him.
Another font (and maybe another font color) would have done great on this. Oh and the ice also could have various transparency - this would create a nice effect!

All in all a cool idea and good music!

psychonull says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:56pm

The music is great. I felt the need for any sfx of the man hitting, etc.. so the game can be more inmersive. liked the controls and the funny quotes :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]