Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Geesulburp

by Beanalby - Jam Entry

Short game, spent most of the time getting the one mechanic to work right:

Left+Right: move around
Up: Jump
Spacebar: Xray powers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Theme(Jam)4.06
#23Innovation(Jam)4.00
#84Overall(Jam)3.72
#116Audio(Jam)3.69
#117Graphics(Jam)4.12
#150Fun(Jam)3.41
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

This is very well done. Love the art style and the xray power is a really cool mechanic (no matter how long you spent on it!) I loved this!

csanyk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58am

Takes me back to that city in Zelda II where you learn the Jump spell and can get up onto the roofs of the buildings to get into secret areas. A quick play, took just a couple minutes to beat, but fun.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:26am

Digging the concept here. It was a nice touch to have the alternate text boxes when the power was activated. One suggestion, since the x-ray ability is used often, a less grating sound effect would be more pleasant. Maybe more like a gentle "pfoOoOoOoO" instead of a "KRSHHHHAAhhhh"

danialhyatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:28am

This one is nice! Great mechanic, love how it fits the theme. Good music and art.

TeamFlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:39am

short but nice !

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:14am

The art is so beautiful! I wanna hug the characters! haha
Great ideia with the inversion of the dialogues. I don't know if it was intentional, but I interpreted the inversion of it with theme. The real us in deep within. Maybe I'm just day dreaming, but I really liked your game. The mechanics was very cool also. Too bad it's so damn short. Spend more time on it!

simplesmiler says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:16am

Idea is great, so as implementation.

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:19am

That's a great idea for a mechanic! *KRSHHHHAAhhhh* (Man I hate that guy for thinking of it before I did.)

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:20am

Awesome mechanic Id love to see this expanded upon with more time, fantastic graphics too!

michelfontes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:26am

I'm sad it ends so fast.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]