Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Epsilon Adventure

by recursor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After falling into a strange crack near some remote mountains, you find yourself stuck in a strange cavern with nowhere to go but deeper. Hopefully freedom awaits somewhere below...

==Controls==

WASD = Move
Left Mouse = Interact (when crosshair turns yellow)
Esc or Right Mouse = Leave an interaction
C = crouch

NOTE:
I've released a post-compo version that fixes some issues with swimming and game control in general. There is also an improved puzzle mode interface that alleviates having to unlock/relock the mouse pointer.

==Post-compo versoin controls==
WASD = Move
Left Mouse = Interact (when crosshair turns yellow)
Right Mouse = Leave an interaction
Left Ctrl = crouch
Left shift = run

[4/30/2014] - Fixed an incorrect clue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#87Mood3.80
#187Audio3.42
#412Overall3.32
#444Theme3.39
#482Graphics3.27
#489Fun3.09
#679Innovation2.89
#1001Humor1.75

Comments

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:16am

The Concept is really interesting, i like the puzzles, but I don't like the graphics sorry :/, maybe if you make some decoration and irregularity and more textures it will be nicer. Anyway I liked :3

recursor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

@WhiteWolf93 I might try to do a post-compo version that has better decorations. More eye candy. Because eye candy tastes goo- no no it looks good.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00am

An interesting puzzle/experience game, looked pretty for being made in just 48 hours. I was doing well on puzzles until the last one, which I admit I guessed and solved. Still though, had an interesting surreal feel.

TheRare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

The game gets stuck before it even starts. Not exactly sure why this happens. I'm running it on 1½ years old laptop with Chrome.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Great atmosphere and aesthetics. I was really intrigued and wanted to keep playing but I got stuck D: Maybe I missed something obvious!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Personnaly, the graphics are cool, there are install a sort of disturbing ambiance. The sounds effect are efficient as well ! Good job !

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Great content made for such short time-frame. I got stuck a few rooms in because I didn't find the control-thing to try my code on. Speaking of which. They could be made simpler to interact with. First times I clicked around without them spinning. Wasn't even sure they should spin. They are really hard to spot too.

A minor thing. One of the lamps in the room with the portals that light up when passing through doesn't work. Not sure if that was on intension.

Another thing, maybe change the slope that the character can walk uphill on, because it feels a little too easy to get stuck getting out of water.

Also you failed to mention right-click and space in the controls.

Other than that. A really nice and impressive puzzle.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

ohh, spooky :)

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Liked the atmosphere. Took me a while to spot the code plates on the walls though. Considering the short time-span, well done!

Huder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I don't like swimming its bad. Game is good i really liked this ambient music.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great atmosphere!

bitserum says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Pretty interesting, the movement was great for the most part. I found it very strange to use C for crouching instead of ctrl though

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Dind't find out how to finish the game. Stuck after the teleport thing. Overall the amtmosphere is great.

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34pm

@bitserum: Yeah. I agree about the 'C' for crouch. I just didn't get time to change it.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

The game is beautiful, and a fantastic puzzler. The music is atmospheric and fits the game perfectly. My only real complaint is the floaty physics. It doesn't really feel "tight" enough.
For 48 hours though, this is fantastic, and I think it would probably sell as-is, if you wanted.
A lot of fun, and very polished.

607 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Wow, I'm impressed. I did really like the graphics and the ambient sound effects. It had quite some atmosphere. I like how you used Greek letters, and even while the game was short, it was fun to play.

vinull says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Love it! The puzzles were interesting and clever, and I liked that there wasn't any hand holding to tell me what it was I was supposed to be doing (even though it took me a bit to figure out how to interact with the code cubes). If you do put more time into making this a full game I'd say expand on the story bits and the lighting some (was hard in a few places to see thing). Great job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:19am

It looks very interesting. Nice atmoshere ++

SyBen says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:30am

Niece atmosphere ans audio, but man the controls and the camera were really awful (moving slowly and with no reason, not responding with Chrome)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:24am

The controls felt a bit clumsy and navigating was a bit challenging, but the puzzles and the atmosphere got me hooked :)

Zarkith says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Can't go into the green room 0/10 best game since sliced bread -IGN
(Really nice entry, wish there was more of it)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:07am

This is cool, it's really atmospheric and reminded me a bit of Amnesia with the notes lying around. It was kind of hard to figure out how to do the puzzles (I opened one of the first doors without really understanding how I did it) and the movement felt a bit slow for how big the areas were, but it sucked me in anyway! Good job :D

dylanwolf says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:56am

The atmosphere is neat, and the use of ambient sound and lighting effects to accomplish it is neat. I wish the objects of interest were a little more visible, because I had a hard time figuring out what I was supposed to do.

I got stuck on the room with the 3 floating spheres after I pushed the rolling sphere into the water. I'm not sure if I was on the right track or not.

matt_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Really impressive for 48 hours of work!

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Man I love the atmosphere going on here. I love the soundscape and the graphical style (the tiling on the cave could do with some work like others have said, though). I love it.

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:19am

This was interesting, though I got stuck at the part with the arches that light up. I think the interface could use some improvement, those combination locks were too small, and the overall art direction was a bit bland. But the overall premise was interesting.

May 9, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Great puzzle game, i like the ambience and the pace ! I was blocked at the room with the three hovering orbs though, I saw the symbols underwater but couldn't figure what to do then :(

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I got stuck too but I wanted to finish. Interesting story and nice touch with the hand written notes.

GamerTaters says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:42am

Nice game. Great use of sound. It really draws you in. Some puzzle elements and written notes blend in with the walls though, so I found myself missing a few things on my first pass. Overall, really well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]