Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pearl Diver

by samooJAM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Randomly generated sea plants and fishes! Best played with a gamepad.

CONTROLS
Fullscreen: 'F' button
Movement: WASD/arrows/gamepad
Stroke: Left mouse button/ctrl/gamepad0 (hold down to kick)
Radar(sonar): Right mouse button/alt/gamepad2

TECH INFO
Unity3D
Blender
Audacity
Bfxr.net
http://www.dafont.com/minimal.font

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#147Graphics3.90
#171Mood3.55
#235Theme3.63
#253Audio3.26
#398Overall3.33
#550Humor2.44
#719Innovation2.84
#976Fun2.50

Comments

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58am

I really like the abstract environment art, It feels alien and interesting, the player maybe not so much...
But really nice job:)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Very nice aesthetics, and nice ambience, but the gameplay is not interesting, since there is no challenge, but a challenge of patience.

With a bit more excitement, it could be a joy to swim around in though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

Great job on the undersea flora and fauna. It was fun finding the various slug-things' strange interactions. Perhaps the sound could change a bit as you get higher, as I could have used some feedback when I had to 'escape the area'. I think the wording's fine, but it was hard to gauge that I was actually gaining height.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Great aesthetics, love the low poly art. The game isn't challenging but I really enjoyed it as an ambient experience-- especially with the track in the background.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

I really love the graphic style. I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Really good visual style, good job!

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Love the games atmosphere and aesthetics. Not gonna lie though, I spend more time making music with the radar button than I did swimming around. =P Great job nonetheless.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Reminds me of GW2 WvW pearl collecting :)

Nice visuals.

Although I couldn't get the radar working :/

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very relaxing!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great job with the aesthetic as already stated, nice relaxing atmosphere to swim around in! I really like seeing projects that pick an appropriate scope for the assets, and with the added bonus that the low-poly art was well executed too! Good job.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Wow, really beautiful. Sound was perfect. Controls were a bit slow, and I didn't feel any motivation to collect the pearls, but with some varied landscape, I'd swim around just to be in that world. Nice job!

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Like the graphics work, it's simplicity really pays off. I'm not sure the radar was working for me though :(

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Awesome, abstract little experience. I love the whole style, especially the weird creatures and their animations.

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I liked the art style, but the radar didn't work for me so finding all 7 pearls dragged on a bit. Relaxing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Incredibly beautiful, it really feels like diving. The sound is just perfect.
Just wandering around was a great pleasure, super entry!

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I love this exploration game…. . the art is very abstract and very cool.

LTyrosine says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Nice graphics and mood but I felt more in a demo than a game.

dector says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Very interesting concept. But control isn't very good for me. Will you improve camera/control and build post-compo version?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Nice job like the size of the world it beefs out the play time abit and adds some aspect of actually looking for the pearls

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

@dector I'll consider making a post compo version and absolutely I would improve camera, controls and many other things. Follow me on twitter for updates @samoojam

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Neat game! At first I found the inverted W,S keys annoying, then reached for my Xbox 360 controller and was off to the races. It took me a few moments to realize that the Stroke movement could be held. I also didn't realize at first that the sonar was functional. Cool idea! Once I got that, the game became instantly more fun to play. At the end, I didn't understand where I needed to go, so I just kept swimming "forward". I either got eaten by the fish, or escaped. Fun! :)

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08am

I loved the art style a lot. Did you consider adding mouse look controls?

samooJAM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35am

@evilseanbot To save development time I just gave up with mouse controls quite quickly. The mouse controls didn't feel right because I designed it to be played with a gamepad.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nicely done sir! The swimming controls are very nice, and the graphical abstract style works well.

v_n_j says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Even though this procedural-generated plants and fishes look a bit weird, they still look good and set the right mood. It feels awesome when you swin around and then shadow of a giant fish falls upon you :)

Just a thought about fishes - they look bulky and i don't think they need so many polygons. More shape, less polygons - they will look better imho.

crewderek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:50pm

I really loved the environment! Very abstract and different looking! As for the game play, the one thing I found crazy cool was the sonar system. You couldn't die though to my knowledge so there was no real urgency. Good game though!

raulincze says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:12am

Wow... I was totally immersed into this. (pun intended) Great atmosphere.

Towards the end I stopped collecting the pearls because of the annoying noise they made when you pick them up. (Either that or maybe I wanted to spend more time just swimming around chasing fish).

Also, maybe a very subtle vertex animation shader on the see weed would've contributed more to the environment.

Nice job!

pIMGale says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:06pm

the scale is perfect and makes the ending crazy good.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:09am

Neat idea! Love the underwater-atmossphere, it's usually hard to pull that off.

As usually with 3d-"space-sim"-controls, 50% of the player like "up-button moves up", while the other half is adjusted to "flight-stick"-controls. A button to switch that around would've been great!

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Cool atmosphere.

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:03am

I like the concept. hmm... if there is a mini-map, then it will be very helpful. but I also think that could spoil the mood... hmm.....

ErikU says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:54am

A relaxing game. My one issue would be that the swimming is a bit too slow, and that the optimal speed is done through clicking very quickly which can get tiring. The radar was an interesting implementation once I learned how to use it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]