Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Collective

by olkeencole - Jam Entry

Play as as a scientist scouting out a planetoid for chemical samples. Each "surface" has a hole that leads deeper into the planetoid.

There was so much more I wanted to put into the game, but I barely had time to make the game this weekend. It'll probably be easy to break, but I think its a fun environment to play in.

If you have any suggestions or recommendations, please let me know. I plan to continue working on this game and add new features. I really want to add a lot of wacky science effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Theme(Jam)3.21
#345Graphics(Jam)3.46
#358Mood(Jam)3.08
#581Innovation(Jam)2.57
#583Overall(Jam)2.83
#664Audio(Jam)1.53
#665Fun(Jam)2.30
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

I don't have someone else to play this with at the moment, so I won't rate it. It doesn't look much like the screenshot -- did you maybe upload the wrong version?

IndieST says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

1. The screen is too dark at the most of the time. It works for building creepy atmosphere, but maybe give the player a flashlight?
2. I got to some iron mine, jumped on it, and then the game seemed reset. What should I supposed to do then?

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

I quite like the idea for this game, and I enjoyed the low poly style. Only problem was that looking around with the mouse was too heavy. I'm guess this is supposed to be simulating low gravity perhaps? But it didn't feel like it worked well.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

Sorry! Press F to toggle your flashlight.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

great aesthetic and atmosphere!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

Well visually it's great. And I did enjoy roaming and bouncing around, checking out the environment. It's a shame you weren't able to get more gameplay in. But good work nonetheless!

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26am

I like the art a lot. However, I seemed to have frame-rate issues. Also the resolution on the web version was too large resulting in horizontal scrollbars. I am sorry for running this on a toaster.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27am

Interesting idea, the camera was a little unruly at times with my mouse going all over so I couldn't click on samples very easily. With a little more polish I could find myself getting lost deeper and deeper for a long while.

Contacaton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

I can't play this. It keeps freezing for no apparent reason.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I loved your graphical style! I somehow managed to get out of the playable area I think, holding shift made me float. Great job though!

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Very creative. I liked the art a lot. This could be turned into a bigger game easily, and could cater for those people who just want to explore... or by adding bit more difficult (oxygen levels, cave monsters, you name it).. this could be a really long-term fun.

I liked a lot.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22am

I collected a lot of stuff, it's a big level :o
You did a good job with the level geometry.
I liked the flashlight mechanic and how the camera bounces after jumping.

I wanted to run faster. I think walking slow in a monotonous environment is not fun. Maybe you should explode the floating mechanic too.

sandbaydev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:59am

Also: I forgot to say, but the gravity choice was a solid one -- immediately made me feel like being on some other planet.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Interesting idea and I might have learned something about minerals ;) Great entry.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Clumsy controls, but I love the moon and stars :)

Lyje says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Beautiful low poly art is beautiful! Just wish there was a more clear game mechanic :)

May 3, 2014 @ 1:42am

I like the terrain shapes!

Hob623 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:10am

Fun to bounce and look around, not much else though. Still, looked pretty nice!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:25am

Very nice and educational. Jumping animation is innovative, I like it.

DonovanWu says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:33am

I love the jumping and how the rocks look.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]