Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface

by Vawx - Jam Entry

Third time doing the Jam and I feel better about my abilities each time. I figured that with UE4 out, I might as well have a final goodbye to UDK and use that for this entry.

Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhoISgUEePc

Controls:

LEFT CLICK: Move to location of mouse cursor.
LEFT SHIFT + LEFT CLICK: Fire weapons.
F: Flashlight.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Graphics(Jam)3.73
#516Audio(Jam)2.67
#542Fun(Jam)2.67
#597Overall(Jam)2.80
#666Theme(Jam)2.40
#715Innovation(Jam)2.13
#2090Coolness14%

Comments

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

172 megabytes, 50 minute download for a Ludum Dare entry? That must be why you have so few comments and rating.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Agreed. While having a lot of graphical assets is cool, the faster we can plug and play, the more likely we are to play it.

Also, I can't really download 172 mb through the browser, my connection is unstable. :(

Vawx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Complaining is a great way to support this community. Good stuff.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I don't understand why enemies were shooting NEXT to me, instead of AT me, or why they would IMMEDIATELY respawn at the same location.

Also, it's not very clear what hitpoints are, nor what I'm supposed to be doing.

Game looks good, the control system imposes a nice idea of choosing between mobility and aggressivity, but since the optimal strategy is to stand still and fire at a cluster of respawn points, it feels a little wasted

Vawx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Standing still is definitely a strategy though the spawning system is designed to spawn more as you stay alive, meaning that if you stay still long enough, you will be forced to move by being overwhelmed.

Thanks for the constructive feedback.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Very pretty, I like the main character robot.. shooting felt awkward and having the robots shoot each other was entertaining.. needs a goal or something though other than that nice game

lajos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:59am

Enemies don't seem to be able to hit the player. You have all sorts of fancy rendering and fx, but I'd suggest using a smaller engine and concentrating on the basic mechanics.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Sorry, not going to play games that make me enter my password :-(

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I second what has been said about relaxing on graphics and engine and focusing on gameplay and story, as I think this milks more from games as an art form and LD should be about making art with games as a medium. However, I certainly picked your game from the others on the rating menu based on GFX, and I believe you are getting a lot of five starts in graphics, so I think you might be going for the top few in GFX. It's a legitimate goal, if it's yours, even though not the preferred by the community.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:12pm

The enemies didn't kill me, and is very strange having to press 2 buttons to shoot, also I felt of the ground once, but congrats for making the game on UDK.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]