Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Drill Defense+TM

by PIXEL^3 - Jam Entry

Take control as some sort of minidrill whose goal is to defend a much larger drill from enemy attacks. That's pretty much it. Unless you want a story or something. Alright, heres a story. We originally planned for you to plant a bomb and blow up the earth, but because of time constraints we had to scrap that. We're serious, we finished with like 10 minutes left. Our programmer really needs to stop being lazy.

How to run:
1) Open folder,
2) double click the only executable in the folder.

Controls:
Left mouse, W, Up, or Space to move and navigate menus.
No idea why you let go of the forward button.
The drill moves towards the mouse.

Tips:
-Attack enemy drills from behind, they turn slower.
-Golems will throw rocks at you if you are close, try and draw their attention towards the walls.
-When the minidrill respawns, you have temporary invincibility. Try to clear out as many enemies as possible in those 2 seconds.

Created by Pixel^3:
-Jellonator(Programming)
-AlucardX60(Art)
-MKSTAR26(Music)

Also make sure to collect powerups, most of them usually help.
if you encounter any bugs or crashes, tell me and I'll throw a bunch of bananas at it and hope it fixes something.

Note for Linux users: it works fine for me, but I'm not sure if I included the right stuff in the folder or not. Please tell me if it works.

Note for Mac users or users who wish to build from source: currently there is no Mac version, so if you could make that for me, that would be great. All of the source files are in /game and /src, while all of the include files are in /game and /include. All of the resources/assets are in /resources. The required libraries are SDL2, SDL2_image, and SDL2_mixer.

Our artist, AlucardX60, made a pixel art timelapse. May contain spoilers, but eh, it's a 72 hour game what spoilers: http://youtu.be/-y0B1b1dzFI
(darn you links for not working)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#77Fun(Jam)3.61
#89Overall(Jam)3.71
#133Theme(Jam)3.65
#181Innovation(Jam)3.42
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#332Mood(Jam)3.12
#371Graphics(Jam)3.38
#458Humor(Jam)2.35

Comments

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

REALLY unintuitive to control.

snoozbuster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

I like the art! Cute little game.

TheDreik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

Pretty fun game. Is there finish?

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

Looooved the artwork and thought the idea was very simple but very fun!!

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06am

This was realy cool! I may be biased because I really love drills(gurren lagaan) but i found the gameplay really fun! the controls where a little hard to pick up but I was stupid and diddnt read the description first :p

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07am

oh! also it crashes when you finish the game fyi

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

@TheDreik: Yes there is. And I worked darn hard on it.

@Dreii: Sorry about that, but that's what happens when you rush at the last minute. We'll fix it ASAP.

~AlucardX60

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

The composer would like to grab the attention of any FamiTracker users and point them towards the delicious soundtrack source :) - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41669097/Diggerdance.ftm

~MK

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

At first i tried the arrow key to move and it worked horribly.
However the mouse controls were great and had a bit of fun with it, really nice job!

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Neat little game you got there!

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Complete 5 stars, it was so fun, and so beautiful!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Fantastic game, fits the theme pretty well. The controls are hard to master I think, but that is reasonable - they feel good, I'm just bad at them. I felt like it took waaaaay too long to get to the lava area, and I couldn't make it past it :(

This is a good entry, great job!

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56am

Great music (but controls took some getting used to).
Game crashed randomly for me after a few mins of gameplay (Running parallels desktop on mac)

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:57am

Veyr very nice! Love the graphics, music, the concept, and game. Great Job

May 3, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I was so confused by the controls at the start. Very fun game though!

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Pretty neat game. The controls feels a little difficult to maneuver, especially since it does a lot of seemingly extra flips and spins. But I like the concept, and overall it was pretty fun to play! Good job!

Almost says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:02am

The game is pretty cool. It felt really weird when I died because a small rock hit me from behind, although I guess it makes sense. I just sort of assumed that I was stronger than small rocks and only the pink miners could hurt me.

davidB says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:14am

+1 unintuitive controls but pretty fun. May be a "touch" version for android/ios can be done/sell.

Acuity says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:50am

Nice game! I wish there were upgrades or different types of enemies!

Kingtrez says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Very nice, very challenging. Nice little time wasting game. The controls should have been explained in the game i lost a lot of health just trying to figure out what button i needed to press. Other than that great game :) Best of luck

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:09pm

While I was having a bit of fun playing, I was kind of unsure how to play this game. It seems that I only have 4 mini drills and if I defense my mega drill from the pink colored mini drills, I lose a mini drill. If I have a shield I am safe, but shields are not guaranteed. There doesn't seem to be a way to spawn new mini drills and the game just ends after four lives. The times I played, progress seems very tied to luck with getting powerups at the right times instead of skill of attacking the rock throwing robots. I dug the music and the art.

May 11, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Pretty cool game, one of the best drill ones I have played so far! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Ace, you've outdone yourself - everyone's commenting on how great your graphics are :p

Yeah, it seems we didn't really think this game too well through, but it was a good one to bash out - and it made me compose something VGM-like, finally!

~MK

JoshRespawns says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:57am

great game

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:50pm

I had a lot of fun, playing this game. Like the fast gameplay and the controls are also very enjoyable! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]