Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

First Person Platformer

by robcozzens - Jam Entry

Didn't get as far as I wanted to.

Not really an end to the game, just jump around some until you can reach everything.

Hopefully I'll get a chance to flesh it out a lot more.

WASD to move, Space to jump, Mouse to look.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#371Graphics(Jam)3.38
#613Innovation(Jam)2.47
#643Audio(Jam)1.76
#676Overall(Jam)2.55
#683Fun(Jam)2.23
#764Theme(Jam)1.39
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11am

Can't seem to run. It's asking me to install unity web player but I already had it installed. Installed it a second time and nothing.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

Darn it!
I had a problem like that a few days ago... a Unity file would work on some browsers but on others it said I needed to install the Web Player.
If I can find anything that helps, I'll update my file.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

404 on web link

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

I'm not getting a 404... at least not now. There were a few minutes when the link was broken, but should be ok now.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31am

solid little platformer mechanics. It could be extended to a nice game

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I'm going to rate this based on what's there - really nice graphics actually and I like the post processing. Gravity I think is a bit harsh and mouse sensitivity is really high although I guess that varies with hardware. A good start so far!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

I like the hyper simple concept of "get more jump height." :)

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09am

Nice graphics, but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do?

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nice looking graphics. A pity you could not finish it.

DrStahlbart says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Yeah, it looks like the good old Tron. Keep going, this could become something big. :)

May 3, 2014 @ 8:24pm

It's a cool concept. I'd like to see it when you've finished it up.

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Since the theme is nowhere to be found, I refrained from voting in the case someone might interpret it otherwise and vote with more wisdom than mine. The graphics look good, but Unity.

Exergy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:09am

Good looking prototype. Liked the idea of collecting powerups for increased jump performance. Dont seem to follow the theme thou...

mimiga says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:09am

looks pretty rad, shame there isnt much done/to do. also not sure what it has to do with the theme

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:10am

Nice art (lovely bloom -- Unity Pro?), good old-skool platformer feel in 3D, no theme use that I could divine.
That the collectables were also powerups wasn't obvious but that's good (nice when you learn as you go!). If you could come up with more twists like that, you might well have the makings of a good concept here. Tempted to go further (but journal entries lacking)?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]