Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dwarf

by GhostID - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the depths of a dungeon, collect items, and KILL BAD GUYS! You should also try talking to torches... It's fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Overall3.83
#119Fun3.67
#174Theme3.72
#196Mood3.50
#269Graphics3.63
#354Innovation3.37
#361Audio3.06
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11am

Pretty solid technically. The way the sword handles makes some of the enemies seem unfair, especially the potato fellows who take several hits to kill. Gets a bit repetitive by the third floor. I think I died to a pitfall, but it was impossible to distinguish it from the darkness of the fog. Traps should be made clear and the player should immediately know that they're dangerous.

Not bad, overall!

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

Awesome game! I loved the concept, art, and graphics! Great job, Ghost!

Brunodev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Sorry but I love dungeon games, so this is a masterpiece to me. <3

GhostID says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

@Armanky
Thanks for the feedback! I will try my best to fix up the overall gameplay for my future release. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50pm

All links are 404, boo hoo :'(

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Nevermind, I had this page loaded from yesterday and you probably changed the links since then :-)

Did I saw running potato?? Maybe I'm just losing my mind due to torch talking thing, you know... Enjoyed this, good job!

GhostID says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Hey Rincewind! Yeah I changed the links a little to make my website cleaner. Thanks! And that's right! That potato is from my previous Ludum Dare entry too :).

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Great job. Loved it when you were streaming, loved it when it was published! Art, graphics, concept was great and it was Everything to do with the theme and I would really rate this high.

marccspro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

Very solid game !

May 1, 2014 @ 2:35am

I liked the look and feel, but blindly smashing rock walls in the dark gets tiring.

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:47am

Well made game, most of these games I want to play until the end... but this one was a bit rough particularly when sometimes turning around to attack didn't work.

You definitely have talent though, keep it up.

sam101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Good game, I liked the gameplay, the fog of war, and the fact that the game is not that easy. The hitboxes are a bit weird however.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:00pm

My computer does not let me open the .exe :/

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Nice job! I thought fighting the enemies was a bit monotonous, though.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Pretty solid game! Like the variety of enemies and weapons. Good level design too.

JoshRespawns says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:36pm

cool

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]