Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skin Deep

by Martin Vilcans - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The very latest in cosmetic laser surgery is here!

Bring out the true beauty of your patients with the PeelRay(tm) LD29, designed to grow together with you in your medical profession. Once you have mastered short incisions, the PeelRay(tm) LD29 increases its powerful laser to make even longer uninterrupted cuts possible. In fact, with the PeelRay(tm) LD29, there is no other way than uninterrupted cutting!

NOTE: There is a bug which makes the game freeze when you make certain cuts, and the behaviour when completing the game is confusing. I'm working on this.

Update Tuesday Apr 29: I modified how the skin is removed and got rid of the requirement of the browser to support WebGL. Now it should work on most handhelds and graphics should update properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Theme4.00
#76Innovation3.97
#208Mood3.48
#465Audio2.90
#467Graphics3.29
#614Overall3.13
#734Humor2.19
#826Fun2.72
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

Very trippy, unique implementation of the theme. My main complaint is that after a few minutes it becomes very monotonous, but the pressure to completely remove the face is definitely there.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Nice little puzzle. I guess the controls were made for touch even though they worked with mouse, the whichever was selected was a bit subtle. Once I also looped an area about half-ways through by making a P-shape. Which seems to be allowed, and there were ways out of the cut but game stopped without saying I lost.
As the final cut I cut a big part of the face and it said game over and something else at the same time. It felt like I had removed all pieces but maybe I missed one.

Anyhow that was the tech-part. The style was nice. To increase the cutting-feel you could try having the user stay close ahead of the red dot to keep cutting and not burn a hole in the head and not move too fast so the cut becomes dashed, not skid too much to the sides of the target line. And so on.

ripatti says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Really enjoyed playing it. A face without skin and creepy music set mood very well! Unfortunately there are some bugs and glitches (sometimes some pieces of skin don't disappear and one time the game become frozen when I cut off piece of skin connected to whole skin by only one point). Anyway I really like the idea. Well done!

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Interesting. Took me a while to figure out what was going on. But nice basic gameplay.

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54am

Realy nice and challenging puzzle.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Interesting concept. Reminds me of playing Painter when I was a kid on my BBC Micro. :) All I'd suggest is that the cutter could be sliiiightly faster, but other than that a really well executed puzzle game.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Extremely cool interpretation of the theme.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Creative idea. I would be nice if there was a larger version of the window to play on a computer though

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:51pm

I don't think I really get it. Mind to explain so I can go back to it later?

May 1, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Thank you so much all of you for trying out the game! I appreciate all feedback.

Some answers:

@local minimum: Congratulations for completing the game! Unfortunately the congratulatory message was obscured by the game over message. I've fixed that bug now. The freeze bug is still roaming free, but it should be fixed any moment now... Also thanks for the ideas for improving the gameplay.

@ripatti: The graphics bug is fixed, but the freeze bug is still there unfortunately.

@bhocao: Control the laser cutter by pointing in the direction you want it to go. Enclose an area of the skin to cut it away.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I was playing right, but I misunderstood the game over condition. Shame on me haha. English is not my first language so probably I was lost in translation. Awesome entry! I was feeling very creepy while cutting, so I loved the mood. Very original puzzle (at least for me). Great job.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I quite liked this, quite dark but fitting with the theme. Interesting puzzle that made you think about where you were going and how to stop putting yourself in a tight spot. Nice job!

hypp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Nicely done. Great interpretation of the theme!

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:28pm

An addictive puzzle game, perfect for mobile!

And an unique approach about the theme too! A little creepy! xD

Teesquared says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:44am

Great use of theme and a very morbid mood. Fun but high difficulty. You can create an "unfinishable" surgery pretty easily and it let's you keep playing.

SethR says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:01am

Suitably creepy. I didn't have the patience to get through the whole face, maybe if there were some other mechanics/sub goals at play also...

JokerDen says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:32am

Cool idea! Interesting and easy for understanding. I like your interpritation of the main theme of the contest.

May 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Cool game, a bit creepy, but also very stylish. Music was great, too! :)

vilya says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Amazing (and kind of gruesome!) use of the theme here. Love the music! Took a while before I figured out how to play it, but once I did it was pretty engrossing. Good stuff!

P.S.: Hi, how's things? :-)

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Gave it a few goes, but couldn't peel the face completely. Could've used something more than just the increasing cut length to keep it fresh. Also froze once: https://www.dropbox.com/s/gm546s5rgnhj90q/freeze1.png.

Nice visuals and a cool idea though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 15, 2014 @ 8:51pm

@SethR, @Moosefly: Yeah, I wanted to add some kind of powerups or dangers moving along the edges.

@vilya: Yeah, hi there! All is good here. Started as an independent contractor recently. Downloading your game right now.

edibletoaster says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:21am

Pretty cool. Nice take on the theme and a pretty interesting puzzle mechanic.

caranha says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Wow, someone inspired by Qix, just as myself :-) I liked the general idea, the controls and the music! One thing that I missed was an indicator of how many segments long your cut was -- without it, it was a bit hard to plan ahead where to turn to avoid getting stuck on inner edges.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]