Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Thermonuclear Mutant Bunker Survival

by YSelf Tool - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thermonuclear Mutant Bunker Survival is a game about a person, being in his bunker - years after the thermonuclear war happened - surrounded by mutants. Survival means shooting the mutants.
But one could wonder where the difference between him and the mutants is, particularly because they look similar.

This game has been written in JavaScript on Linux, was tested with Firefox and should run on every platform that supports a keyboard. I did a test implementation of controls for mobile devices, but it did not feel good enough.

Feel free to submit bugs if it's not running properly on your browser, but it only uses standard JS, HTML5 Canvas and BrowserStorage (for the highscore), that are widely supported.

TMBS was mostly made today, reusing little parts of the code I wrote yesterday for a game that was considered too boring today.

Controls: Turn with the arrow keys, shoot with Spacebar.

For some the graphics I used this tool: http://img.uninhabitant.com/spritegen.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#972Graphics2.52
#1016Humor1.69
#1051Fun2.40
#1164Mood2.05
#1194Overall2.35
#1237Innovation1.83
#1240Theme1.80
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

Nicely done, gameplay is smooth :) Would be better if you added more variety to it, like differently moving enemies (spirals/snake-style)

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

Good job. I totally blew all my ammo before I realized I oculdn't get more, shoulda read the fine print first. Personally, I would've liked a little more movement from the player.

remmy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

i love the pixel art ^^ the variety of the gameplay is not so high though :c

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

This game is not bad, but if feels a little empty. You did a good job with the characters though, the animations are quite good. The difficulty is slowly increasing like it should. And it's HTML5 :D

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Got a high score of 281 and the difficulty ramp is pretty good but overall I felt like it was a bit slow.

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

pretty neat small game! ive always liked this concept

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:46am

Reminds me much of a classic space shooter game!

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:49am

Got pretty boring after a while, but nice art style! Can you get past level 1?

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:56am

I didn't realize the ammo was finite so I sprayed a bit. (Aiming is hard) Got 39 points and died.

Could have used sound effects and some background art.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:56am

Man, having limited ammo in a game like this is rough. My high score was Level 6 : 261 points, and I'm pretty proud of that :)

mjau says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:43am

First time i played this i just spammed bullets everywhere and suddenly was unable to shoot, so i figured i'd run out of ammo, and it'd be a better strategy to try to actually aim at enemies and take them out with a single bullet, if possible. So i tried to do that.

But that didn't feel right either. I felt like i spent a really long time just sitting there picking out enemies one by one, never in any real danger.. occasionally there'd be a flurry of a bit more threatening activity (when i levelled up, i think?), but it'd die down again soon enough. Level progression was very slow. Ammo(?) in the lower right didn't seem to deplete at all, but if i was shooting more often it did, and it didn't seem to go back up, so.. i don't know. You're supposed to just sit there and carefully aim at things, i guess? But it's so sloooow..

So yeah, i think that hurts the game. You have more interesting moving enemies further in, and i like those more, but to get to them you have to put up with all that slow waiting and picking, and even when you do there's just a few followed by more waiting.

In short, i think this progresses too slowly. =P

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:38pm

The ammo is finite, as you noticed: Every shot needs one ammo, every hit gives you one. The ammo-display in the lower right is growing with the square of the ammo you have left, so as long as you have enough it does not seem to change a lot.

Yes, going beyond level one is possible, and it's only 50 hits for each level. I agree that the first level is a little bit slow, but there are more and faster enemies with each level.
The interesting moving enemies come in waves, according to where in the current level you are.

StrykerKKD says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Score: 227 Additive gameplay for sharp shooters. :D

loxo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice little game with good graphics. It's like a simplified version of asteroids. I'm not sure if the ammo restriction is a good idea and it felt a bit slow. Would be nice to increase the speed, reduce the number of lives maybe to one and add some audio to make the game more fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]