Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

I Contemplated the Sun of Limbo

by Evilion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yet again an alternative poetic (not)game

WASD/ZQSD to move
E to interact
ENTER to restart
ESCAPE to quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Mood4.52
#16Graphics4.48
#27Audio4.04
#116Overall3.76
#204Theme3.67
#211Innovation3.58
#483Humor2.53
#767Fun2.78

Comments

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45am

Very contemplative, I liked the interaction with the man !
Also interesting rendering.

Indie Squid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

Interesting atmospheric experience. Really nice use of shaders!

NiallM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53am

Oh, this is really nice. Love the way you kind of tip forward into the sea/other world. The colours are gorgeous.

Simon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Dude, this is seriously cool. I'm not sure I did everything I could in the game though. Great entry!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Looks awesome mate!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Very impressive! :)

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Ridiculously beautiful. You creating an amazing world.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Awesome job! I love the graphics, and the gameplay is so calm... a great game.

Spotline says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Super ambiance, très sympa :) Dommage qu'il y ai pas plus (à moins que j'ai pas tout vu)

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Intriguing...

devince says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Was a really nice experience

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Wow, very beautiful and also quite scary. Very good job. It made me think ok solaris with the weird big ocean and people appearing behind your back.

pereubu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

yay <3

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

So beautiful. Got the biggest shock I've had since I played Amnesia: The Dark Descent.
I would have liked it even more, if I it felt like there was a point to it somehow, other than just looking at cool effects and listening to awesome/trippy ambiance.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

That was quite a trip.
10/10 would do again

Larzan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Beautiful...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

The graphics and the sound ambiance are just amazing!

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Amazing mood...

Is the "other" person myself?

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Amazing visuals and atmosphere, it really felt like I was in another world.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

I am blown away by this entry. It's amazing how you managed to blend beauty and a sense of darkness to create this experience. The interactions were creepy and interesting, and the last stage (I'm 95% sure) becomes an incredibly chaotic yet gorgeous conclusion. Very deep interpretation of the theme. Do you or are you planning on making full games like this? Because I'd totally play them. For what it's worth, this is the first LD game that I've ever compulsively taken screenshots of. Bravo.

Evilion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Thank you for the kind words Brian Stegmann !

I aim to make full games like this one day, but for the moment I'm experimenting with short ""poems"" like this one.

Don't hesitate to share the screenshots on Twitter, I want to see them !

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

I want an Occulus Rift Version

Evilion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

You'd instantly die !

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

This game is gorgeous. You really did a good job at creating a unique experience for the player.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

aaaaah very interesting atmosphere!

friken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Very cool.

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Best entry so far. Very atmospheric, very beautiful.

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Compelling environment and audio with a strong visual style. Worth expanding on.

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

This was astonishingly beautiful - even better than I expected after your pictures on Twitter! The soundscape is also pretty great, although a bit spare at times - but man, those shaders. The colors!

(I'm not sure I did everything I could ingame though.)

PS: I am not sure I'm supposed to be here, but I like the ocean: https://i.imgur.com/W3ijVGH.jpg

Evilion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13pm

You have the right to be here ! Maybe you've found the trick, or maybe it was unintentionally, but in fact if you get here, you are close to the second ending !

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Love the art style going on here, the rendering is great. Very alien otherworldly vibes going on here.

Meedoc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I'm blind now... But that was worth it!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

While I was not able to find either of the endings in the time I played, I was content just following the sun as it floated around the island. The skybox and colour use are beautiful.

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Awesome game! I felt kinda lost, but I can see how that is part of the experience. Pretty sure I didn't do everything...

MoArtis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

I'm really not into this kind of experience (I have no soul) but man, these shaders are so nice. :D

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

This made me feel surreal emotions I haven't felt since I was a child who hid under the bed during thunderstorms.

Aaaaand it succeeded at startling me big time.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01pm

I didnt find the man :/

Evilion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Try to sit down on the stool by pressing the E key, it's the first step. You'll find the man soon.

increpare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28pm

loves it

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Neat artistic style, and great use of mood. :)

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11am

I don't know whether I missed something, but as far as I could see all there was to do was walk up and down the same hill repeatedly? Beautiful visuals & great sense of atmosphere though!

Evilion says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:29am

Walking through the two sidse of the same island is part of the experiment indeed, however there is a sequence of actions doable in order to reach the first end of the game. The second end is a bit trickier, but findable enough for a curious player :)

Spotline says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:02am

I played it again and found the ending !

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:49pm

The atmosphere is amazing...

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Very nice FX - it seems to me similar with "dear esther". I like it ++

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Fantastic visuals & great ambient sounds. Love the man shaped.. thingy.

iambored2006 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:43pm

This is what hell is like. Oh god. I'm freaking out.

iambored2006 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:30am

Yesterday, I played this game at night. I found the man sitting on the stool and completely freaked out when .. it .. happened. I told myself- I'll play it tomorrow, I'll try to make more sense of it. Oh god. My conclusion is that I'm fucking scary. Thank you for this game.

Mase says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Bizarre but cohesive.

May 4, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Very, very good! Really more of a poem than a game, but a great and unique experience! Didn't think I'd find something like that here... Really awesome!

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:31pm

So freaky. I enjoyed exploring around. Not really certain what I discovered. I often couldn't be sure something was intended vs a bug. I think the game glitched out on me at the end. I found a stool. I found a silhouette of a person. That person got all freaky in the vertxes when I interacted with them. I was eventually swallowed by the sun.

jerombd says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Very great mood thanks to an original contrast between an ominous sound landscape & rich vibrant colors (and a creepy guy too)!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:13pm

This is so artsy...man. Also, slenderman vibes. Nice job going for it and really taking it out there.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Some parts really gave me the creeps, which is very good for the mood in this one. At the end, I don't know if it was my gpu glitching away but I got a bit of a seizure-inducing triangle storm :P I'm not sure I played it 100% either. Really nice work!

mcapraro says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:39pm

very interesting and different

May 5, 2014 @ 6:33pm

what a lovely game! so atmospheric, so creepy and so engrossing! Top marks!!

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Surreal, almost scary experience. Check my video for further opinion.

porglezomp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I destroyed the sun! This is really interesting, you should call it an interactive poem, if you want to call it a poetic (not)game.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I don't know what happens here, but something happens and leads me to explore more of this 'world'.
Sound fits good.

Anoarith says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:42am

Wow, I wonder what's the meaning behind this short story o_o
It reminds of Slave of God and Proteus (with a totally different atmosphere of course xD) for the contemplative exploration aspect.

Congratulations, your game is awesome !

radmars says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:18am

Amazing experience! I totally missed what to do the first time around, might be better to be a bit more directed at the beginning. Awesome sound design by the way.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:16am

Evocative of stargazing. Beautiful and atmospheric. Wasn't sure if I should be doing something... but it didn't really matter if I didn't.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:49am

Well I beat the game, I'm glad the ending wasn't just "the ending" but instead you could get a more proper ending (hopefully that doesn't spoil it).

This game was all about mood, and it did that well, generally games like these aren't things I like, and this one too seemed a bit self-indulgent, but the fact you called it a "(not)game" seems to me to show that you know what you are making and just like making it and that's cool, and what you made was great for what it was trying to be.

Your style is different than what I'm into but I can tell you executed your style quite well and it was a good looking game with excellent mood.

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Love the mood !!

iambored2006 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:57am

Hey! I mentioned your game in this post- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/18/10-games-that-resonated-with-me/ , along with some feedback. I'd love to hear what you have to say!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]