Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep breath

by vitor.navarro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The girl is lost deeply in her mind as if she has drowned lost forever, try to recover her memories and wake up back to her life.

Comments on development time: unfortunately it wasn't possible for me spent more than 8 hours, so there is no music and lots of desired gameplay concepts (including more levels and adjustments) were not made.

Event: Ludum Dare #29 Theme: Beneath the Surface Time spent: 8 hours
Tools used:
* Phaser
* Sketchbook Pro
* Gimp
* Sublime Text 2
* Python Simple Http Server

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#958Theme2.70
#990Mood2.47
#1032Graphics2.43
#1186Innovation2.05
#1262Fun1.33
#1271Overall1.87
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

The girl is too slow to play this game.

vitor.navarro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I'm gonna adjust her speed and acceleration after LD finishes for a complete game. Thanks for the feedback ;)

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

It's a shame that it was not finished: I can see potential

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Girls floating speed creepy(It is good). But the level is too big to move on that speed. you can keep the speed same and, generate smaller levels with some obstacles.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

The girl is way to slow. it bores me after seconds :/

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

There's not a lot going on her, but at least you got something done on time for the compo--that's meaningful in and of itself.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Nice idea!

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

It's not so bad for a game made in only 8 hours, but the girl is too slow.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

Sloooooow mooooootiooooooon!
Making her fly faster, the idea is good.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Nice, but the girl is pretty slow.

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12am

the girl is slow, but I actually find that interesting. I was wondering if you could keep that as a feature and design your levels to make THAT part of the fun

vitor.navarro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Thank you all for the comments. I'm very excited about the exposed ideas and I'll try to improve the game. Thx again folks.

Raiyumi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Not bad for 8 hours. I think making her a bit faster would be better.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Controls could be a little bit more adjusted so you don't have to wait so much to move the player, but the game itself is ok.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]