Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Helevenium

by alvivar - Jam Entry

Helevenium
by @matnesis
Ludum Dare 29


Beneath the surface, at the Helevenium, there is nothing but death.


Instructions:
R retry
WASD move
MOUSE + LEFT CLICK attack


Special thanks to: fins, qubodup, Qat, dav0r, Jaylew1987, symphoid, Trebblofang, Andy_Gardner, iampagan & blaukreuz from FreeSounds.org.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Fun(Jam)3.79
#107Overall(Jam)3.66
#158Mood(Jam)3.56
#267Innovation(Jam)3.26
#286Graphics(Jam)3.59
#301Audio(Jam)3.21
#490Humor(Jam)2.27
#620Theme(Jam)2.58

Comments

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

Really cool graphics I like that.

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44am

I liked this a surprising amount! I didn't finish it as it's a little too hard for me but the combat was really satisfying. Nice thwunks and movement. I think if you took a look at the combat system and tweaked it with playtesters this would be really awesome.

tzamora says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Very very good. The style and combat system are great!!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Really cool, loved the combat and atmosphere

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

This is a pretty good piece and I think it would have been great to have more than a single point of health. I was only able to defeat one enemy in my 5 minute run. Also, the controls got hung-up when I wasn't in fullscreen mode. (Browser)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Original and surprisingly fun but hard!

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

great combat system

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Simple, but interesting! I like the small details of the red/blue flags(?) following you and the sword!

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Realy nice game. Difficulty is brutal :)

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

hella-hard haha or maybe I'm just bad at it xP

Great graphics, great atmosphere :) I love it

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

Great style! I tried doing a pacifist run, but didn't work out :)

MisterDerek2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12am

Nice job, love the atmosphere and combat.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49am

Great graphics and controls. Fun game to play. Great job!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

The art was neat, it looked like it was breathing now and again, or my eyes were messing with me. Combat was a little difficult to get down especially with faster moving enemies.

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54am

I loved the atmosphere here.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

Very hard, but fun once you get the hang of it

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

Nice game, but too hard

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Couldn't pass the first screen :*(

Acuity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17am

I liked the sound effects for combat, and the background music sets the mood. The second screen was already too hard for me though...

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

great aesthetic! the combat is pretty punishing, though quite fun

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33am

Got the vibes of Hyper Light Drifter and Hotline Miami while playing this. I like the artistic style you're bringing to it. A few things that came up for me. I didn't know exactly how hurt I was and I didn't feel like I got enough feedback if I was hitting the enemies or not.

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

Really good game. The controlls are a bit tricky at first, but then I get used to it and it made a lot of fun.

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

LOVE IT. It's so hard I feel so satisfied when I kill one of them. First I tried to run to get out of the level and I was like OMG I actually have to kill them. Really nice, really nice.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Reminded me of Hotline Miami. Good work!

xk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Cool art style! I liked the mechanics alot. Good job!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Very innovative system. I really sucked at it though, but I liked it a lot. The graphics style were simple but nice. I liked the physics, especially for when killing things / dying yourself. Good job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really nice game but incredibly difficult! I like the mechanics though. Maybe you should remove the fadein/fadeout after dying so that action is more continuous, just a suggestion

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Love the combat, the AI is pretty cool. Overall a fun game!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:26am

The combat feels really polished *_* but pretty hard XD

Kino333 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:29am

Absolutely a great game! Way to hard for me to beat. XD

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Insane difficulty, but very well done. Good job, keep up the good work!

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Very awesome :) It did get extremely hard. I wish there was a difficulty setting. Really cool style. Great use of unity trail renderer :D Feels like a real full game. Very impressive for 72 hours :)

foolmoron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Amazing style and polish and gameplay. Very hard but engaging enough to keep trying to win.

mrbungle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Graphics and sound work well. It's fun, couldn't get passed the three bosses though- pretty tricky.

Wertle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:54am

Nice feedback on the melee. My mouse was super laggy so it made it hard for me to play but I'm gonna try it again on a good mouse :) It was challenging but I think in a good way. Good job!

AugustSnow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Great combat system! A little too difficult for me but really fun

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Couldn't beat the boss, but it was fun little game with nice artwork and feeling. Good job.

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Ha! I live, and you die! Where are your gods now, stupid boss monsters?
https://i.imgur.com/ZXhGsgx.jpg

Okay, negative sides first:
- Your game is really hard.
- Your game is really, really, really hard!
- The "sword ready again" sound effect doesn't communicate "sword is ready again" to me. I know that it's probably a sword being drawn, but to me it sounds more like an attack.
- The sword attack feels slightly delayed. (I wish you had uploaded the source, I would've loved to check.)
- The enemy movements are hard to predict.
- Your main screenshot up there looks really boring. Make a screenshot with trails and action, your game looks MUCH better ingame.

Now for the positive!
- Restart is really fast.
- Your enemies are interesting to fight.
- The sounds except "sword ready again" feel really satisfying.
- Chain-killing enemies is awesome!
- The minimalistic graphics work extremely well.
- ...as does the atmospheric ambiance.

It might seem like there's more negative up there than positive, but I've just played your game for 45 minutes, so - it was super hard, yeah, but it was also fun!

PS: But seriously, as a penance for making such a hard game, you have to beat the 4th level in mine. No buts!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:54am

Really good game. Simple, but super addictive. You die a lot, but you get right back into the action so you don't really think about it. Wonderfully executed game idea.

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Pretty challenging game but in a good way. Like the mood of it and the gameplay, good job.

Ditto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:18am

Super cool graphics! Gameplay are very similar to Nuclear Throne, a game which I love very much, so of course I very much love this one as well^^ Good job!

Rabu932 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Loved the difficulty and finished the game. Now I think I'm going to finish it a bunch more times. The only thing I didn't like was the ending, because, well, it ended, I wished I could go on playing. So good job!

Larzan says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:03am

AAAAaaaaargh, RIDICILOUSLY hard! GREAT game, couldn't stop. No time to write more, gotta finiiiiish...

Larzan says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:26am

Phew, first of all, as i said, ridicilously hard, but very rewarding. Would be nice to have a death counter or sth. also , as mentioned before, some nice reward when finishing the level would be nice, but i have to say, one of the best games i have played here! Well done!

May 9, 2014 @ 1:33pm

This is really hard! But immense fun! :D
I feel like the rate of attack was a bit slower than it should've been. But I like the audio feedback you give whenever you're able to attack again.
And I just love the graphical style! The way you've used colours is really cool :)
I think some kind of dodge roll would have been really useful.
All in all, this is a really great game! Congrats! :)

praporomsk says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The mouse controls was a little bit uncomfortable for me, but I really liked the game! It's challenging and very fun to play! Well done!

May 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

It's really hard sometimes with so many enemies, so little health and that recharge time... But it's really satisfying when you get it right. I like the feeling of impact when you hit something. Nice!

May 9, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Wow, great game! Really, really hard, maybe even unfair at times, but the challenge always keeps you going. Pretty rad soundtrack, too! I like it! :)

May 9, 2014 @ 8:46pm

a good but hard game .

rojo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Mechanics felt pretty good, and the visual aesthetic was pretty nice. Definitely fun overall!

romandtom says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:12am

Wow man that was hardcoree
Cool effects
I liked it ;)

May 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

Really well done game. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

Garris says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:45am

Incredibly difficult, but the kind of difficulty that hooks you and won't let go.

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:32am

Pretty difficult yet very fun challenge!

Atridas says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Really nice. Maybe you should balance the difficulty.

May 10, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Phenomenal. This is the Dark Souls of Ludum Dare 29. Period. The combat was fantastic. Always felt like it was my fault and like I wasn't good enough when I died. Finished it and I'm glad theres not a Lives counter :) Great entry. One of the best I've played (100+). The core gameplay is just fun.

Snoother says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Really fun and exhilarating to play, but a bit too challenging for me. Although I kind of like that "trial-and-death" Hotline Miami feel.

Erkberg says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Really hard, but the controls and general gameplay feel so smooth it just makes you go on and try again. A very good game, great job!

danbo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Lovely little piece of visual flair with the coloured trails, and all the little particles add some texture - something I wish I had thought of with my sort of similar game.

I love the fact that you're able to send enemy projectiles back at them, though the blue flash on hit can get very distracting at times. Likely better than having no feedback at all, though.

Really enjoyed this, though! Boss could have used a few "tells", but otherwise superb work.

NoNoBattle says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Really cool challenging game! I especially liked the attack that can be used as defence simultaneously, and the turning animation when striking, multiple strikes feel very fluid when there is no back-swing, very inspiring :D

The different types of enemies and the endboss were great and worked very well. The only thing I would want to see improved would be the third level, maybe by putting less enemies and placing them more tactical^^
Also in this level the strike-wave is a bit annoying as it is destroyed when even scratching a wall, so you have to aim very precise near walls...
And I'm a bit disappointed by the hero sprite, every enemy has some cool graphics and I am a square with a sword...

Anyhow, this game has a very good vibe - in a dark-souls-way - and is great fun! Very good job :D

Robinerd says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I'm getting old.... I totally gave up on the third stage. But still, I like the simplicity of this game and the graphical style was very interesting and uncommon. Good introduction of the game play functionality, both enemies and controls. I gave you particularily good score in the audio category for the very moodful lack of music which still works great thanks to the good choice of sound effects. You picked exactly the right events to connect sound effects to without bloating the game with too much sounds. I like the reload effect in particular which was very effective and totally necessary for the gameplay. Well done!

cageinabird says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

The combat is tough, tense and tactical. I couldn't get very far, but enjoyed what I experienced.

misterwalter says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:53am

Fun and challenging, the comparisons to Dark Souls kinds of difficulty are apt, but it doesn't seem to have much to do with the theme.

May 16, 2014 @ 4:02pm

You've been highlighted in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2Xy7wSxizs

gre says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Incredible game. Minimalist graphics which are very well polished (the whole level seems alive, breathing + particles).
Audio is ok. Gameplay is great, I like the pause moment at the beginning and then you have to do your moves like a ninja.
Very good atmosphere and cool ennemies.

Teesquared says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Unique visual style. High difficulty but addictive.

Raiyumi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Has a really high difficulty and got hardcore on the 3rd room. It really sucked that once I reached the end I realized I had to kill every one of those enemies. Overall, really polished and fun game!

biscuitdough says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:16pm

First screen took me a while, but fantastic concept. Love the visual design

Jeremias says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Interesting gameplay and mood, but far too difficult for me. I think you should give more lives and let the player hit faster. Or I'm just incredible bad :D

May 17, 2014 @ 9:29pm

A little hard, but cool game...will it have mobile versions?

jsmars says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:39am

Nice game and fun action!

7heSAMA says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:32am

This is basically the game I wanted to make, but good ;n;

It was really laggy for me which is a problem. Also incredibly hard, and not /entirely/ in a good way. Learning you could launch enemies into others to kill them helped a lot, that was a nice touch, made it much more challenging.

More open areas or smarter enemies would probably be better, it basically turned into shoot and scoot once you killed a few enemies.

Solid entry

Dominator_101 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:35pm

That was actually pretty fun. No idea how I managed to beat it, though, cuz I felt like I was pretty bad at it :P

It felt really satisfying to block an incoming enemy with an attack, and even more so when they then ricocheted into another enemy or two.

Would've been nice to know right off the bat that you needed to kill every enemy in the room to advance, but eh, not that big a deal. Maybe just put a door or something that opens when they all die just so you don't think you can go through.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]