Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mosquito Mashin'

by TheGamingProject - Jam Entry

Mosquito Mashin'

Mash em up!

Mash them mosquitoes!

In Mosquito Mashin' you play as a member of the Counter Mosquito Task Force (CMTF). Your mission, to rid the body of mosquitoes during the Mosquito-Human Conflict. Be merciless with your mashin' and let no mosquito survive.

You will be assigned to the Underbody branch of the CMTF. Mash as many mosquitoes as you can, once you have mashed enough the King Mosquito will make his way to the battlefield. This is where you will be truly tested! Take down the King Mosquito and make us proud!

Your assignment will be tough. Working beneath the skin of our benefactor is not an easy task, but you will MASH and MASH harder. Roam back and forth beneath the skin and protect us all from the mosquito overlords that seek to infect us.



Mosquito Mashin' made in 72 by The Gaming Project. Our artist could not make the event so all the art was made on a Chromebook. Stay strong Chromebook users.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#382Theme(Jam)3.14
#389Humor(Jam)2.52
#476Innovation(Jam)2.76
#554Audio(Jam)2.50
#594Fun(Jam)2.51
#644Overall(Jam)2.68
#686Graphics(Jam)2.38
#696Mood(Jam)2.20

Comments

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

not sure how it fit the theme, but cool concept. i hate mosquitoes...i got a certain satisfaction out of mashing them.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

pretty interesting! never seen anything like it. fun short little game!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Hi. My skin itches now... thanks for that! Fun li'l game!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Finished it with my fingers hurting. Thank you for the game. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

i wish i had something like this to kill mosquitoes while sleeping.

good work (- : keep on going

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Not bad! I quite enjoyed the boss fight :D

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Fun little finger hurting game, not sure how it fits the theme, but great work nevertheless xD

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Why Mosquitos?... Had a blast killing them, nice game.

mariscal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Nice game, loved the music and sound effects, a scoring system would be fun to add some competitive element to the game!

thinkster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice little fun game, I liked the boss where you had to hit the eggs back up at it. Took me a while to figure out!

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Haha! Jolly good fun! Frantic action!
And it obviously fits the theme in a better way than just a game taking place underground or under water.

danialhyatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I get the theme! You're not swatting them but killing them from beneath the surface. Made me feel really weird about mosquitos! Good job. Nice tune

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Good job!

May 5, 2014 @ 9:52am

I wanna kill some mosquitos but the web link is dead :(

JokerDen says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:37am

I like it, but can't explain why.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]