Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine Me Some Gold

by Pixelulsar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mine some gold for your king in the treacherous rock beneath the surface, and return it to buy helpful upgrades.

Instructions:
Arrow Keys or WASD - move and point drill
Return gold to your king, you can only carry so much
Hold up while on ceiling to hang there
Do not fall to far or get killed

I chose to interpret the theme as beneath the surface of the earth. There are many challenges and items I would have liked to add if I had more time...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Graphics4.46
#315Humor2.84
#372Overall3.36
#376Theme3.46
#548Audio2.79
#588Mood2.95
#760Fun2.79
#1070Innovation2.32
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Loved the Graphics and sound, got really repetitive after a while but was fun at the start

uprightpath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

It looks rather nice and plays pretty well. Though it's difficult/time consuming to buy things (The fact that you can only carry a small number of nuggets is a bit bothersome).

Also, some issues with the spike trap (I dug under it then jumped upwards and got killed.)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

The graphics are incredibly, I love the pixel art. The game-play also felt solid, it was just a bit too slow. Too much grinding for small rewards and I felt like my progress was slowing with depth rather than increasing because of the long climb.

Fantastic work on the presentation and solid game all round. I'd love to see this game continued and expanded upon.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

The pixel art is lovely, and the digging mechanic was fun to work with. I enjoyed the bizarre music too. I did have trouble getting back to the surface though.

Nice job on this!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

Awesome start with graphics and sound. Needs more polish to keep from being repetitive.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45am

Best pixel graphics I've seen this far. And 2d mining games are always fun :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Really nice art, the little guys have so much character.

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

Graphics are nice, but I dug down too far and couldn't get back up and realized that the rest of the game was likely to be exactly the same, so I stopped. The music was alright, although the sound effects were a bit annoying.

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:24am

art is tremendous, and getting back up is quite the challenge

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:25am

Fun game but that king is kind of a jerk. Get your own gold, man.

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:26am

I got 100 gold, upgraded my equipment, then went back down and got 97 gold, then accidentally dug into a rock above me by double drilling...

The king still said it was insufficient =(


It became a lot easier once I figured out how to glide along the ceilings ;-)

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:37am

Best mining game dirt graphics I have seen in this LD!

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Don't really like the sounds and music, but the gameplay is fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]