Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the... hey, look, shiny things!

by Yaru - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just follow the instructions in screen, and try to grab all the jewels (that is, the blue squares) as quickly as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#154Theme3.76
#659Humor2.29
#812Overall2.92
#818Fun2.73
#861Audio2.11
#926Mood2.57
#1051Graphics2.38
#1100Innovation2.25
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Found all but one shiny blue box. And found a ghost skeleton! Heh. Good exploration platformer- nothing fancy, but no small thing either.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

Simple, short, and a little lifeless. But I'm STILL impressed by that lighting effect you got. Nicely done overall!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Found 27 blue things but I missed the skeleton the other players mention in the comments above, I'll play again tomorrow.

Nice simple exploration game, it'd be great to have more secrets to find.

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12am

Nailed the basic platformer basics. Would have been nice withm some level progression since it is a lot to collect. Also, got stuck at some point near the LD29 signature and could not get up again.

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

Cute cave diver!

bushmango says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

I like the name of the game.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Ah ah ah, it reminds me when you are stuck in a cave in Minecraft and you're are wondering where is the fuckin'exit X). Good work :)

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Good little game :)
I got all the blue boxes in 5:51 minutes !

mjau says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Managed to find all the gems somehow, just when i was about to quit. That last one took me a long time though. Total playtime was around 18-19 minutes, and more than half of that was just the last gem. When i found it, i was mostly just glad it was over.

I think one of the most important things about exploration games is that there's something to discover, apart from collectibles like gems. Your map doesn't really have much to offer there, though -- it just feels... random, like it's partially randomly generated. There's really only two landmarks: The skull, and the LD room. Those were nice to discover, but everywhere else is mostly just the same. You start to recognize some of the formations after a while, but it's still just piles of dirt in the darkness. Not very engaging on their own.

Landmarks are interesting, but they're also clues that help the player remember things. Have they been here before, or is it someplace new? They give purpose. "Let's try *this* path now, i didn't go up there last time. I wonder if there's anything there?". They don't have to be big, impressive things, just something different. Give a place an identity.

Keep making games =)

GodsBoss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:12pm

That was surprisingly funny, but am I supposed to jump off the screen to the left, when still at the surface, then fall beyond everything into oblivion?

Yaru says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:57pm

@xhunterko
I used this tutorial, although I did some changes (you can see them in the source code) to keep it working
http://flashgamedojo.com/wiki/index.php?title=Dynamic_Lighting_%28Flixel%29
@mjau
Thank you very much for your review! I absolutely agree with you: I want to continue improving this game, adding new things and secrets and that kind of stuff. I'll consider your suggestions!
@GodsBoss
O-Of course! It's a... uh... a metaphor of the futility of life and... uh... okay, no, that's a bug I forgot to solve. Yay me.
@Everyone Else
Thank you very much for playing!

KeyMaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Pretty basic but nice idea. Nice sound effect and lighting effect. Unfortunately I got stuck in a cave and couldn't see all the stuff others have mentioned. A little more direction would be good.

gnerkus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I got trapped.

Yaru says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53pm

@KeyMaster, gnerkus
You can return to the surface at any time by pressing Enter.

Zed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Simple idea, well implemented.

That hunt for the last one! Oh my gosh. I only found it because I discovered you can jump over the holes in the floor at the beginning and kinda 'fall off' the world, and I saw the location of the last one as I plummeted into oblivion.

Good stuff. Took me 8:30.

May 10, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Simple game, but well done. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

Yaru says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:09am

@Zed, Jupiter_Hadley
Thank you very much!

hnjslater says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:18am

Well executed but needed a challenge: moving platforms, baddies, something. Pretty though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]