Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DEA Simulator

by Siewart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a DEA Agent, master of looking beneath the (usually not so) rotten surfaces of meth labs. Find the methamphetamine laboratory before you run out of money!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Innovation3.93
#157Overall3.67
#261Fun3.40
#315Humor2.84
#340Graphics3.50
#395Mood3.17
#517Theme3.31
#773Audio2.32
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

there doesn't appear to be a link available to play this game. That is, as you may imagine, a bit of a problem.

monika says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

Indeed. This looks fun. I'll check back later to see if you've added a link.

Siewart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Hmm, I thought that it was because of the voting not having started yet. But now it has... let me see...

Siewart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:04am

Ah, I forgot http:// (to tired to read simple instructions, sorry :( )

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

Really nice game ! I love the style, remind me of Paper Please. Great job !

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

pretty awesome, the whole analyzation factor is cool

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59am

Once I was on vacation and a meth lab down the street from where I was staying exploded. This game reminds me of that.

The doughnut was a nice touch

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice concept! Loved the donut. The moment of uncertainty right before you do an arrest is pretty fun.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very innovative!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Cool, but I think the "bribe" tool might be a bit overpowered :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Really nice game! Great graphics, really nice idea, and a good difficulty curve. I enjoyed it a lot!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Really interesting idea. Kind of has a Papers Please vibe. Like it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I really enjoyed playing your game. Was really cool to look through houses and make arrests. Seemed fairly easy but was super enjoyable!

Seraphina says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

It's nice to see a different take on the theme. Great job!

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Got to level 6. Game was pretty fun and very coherent but a little dry... it would be nice to get some visual feedback from the various investigation options.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Thank you all for the awesome feedback! :D

I would really have liked to add the animations I made in there as well and some more variation in the actions (also music), but I was a little, err, inefficient over the weekend :<

Atlas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Simple and very Papers, Please-esque.

Exeneva says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:07pm

This game was a very interesting take on the theme. I loved it!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:32am

i really liked the pixel art style and i find the game enjoyable to play, but you did steal my donut

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Hi. Found lab with $6,400 unspent! Interesting idea, sort-of GuessWho of the BreakingBad universe.

Lacaranian says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:46am

Was a little odd that money got spent when simply clicking on a house with no tool used, but a fun game, cool idea. Nicely made!

Siewart says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Sorry... my VPS hosting company suddenly brought our website down, so I had to put up a new Webplayer link.

mechabit says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Interesting idea, could do with more animations, music etc.

Miltage says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very cool concept.

Jeanna says ...
May 1, 2017 @ 10:54pm

how come none of the links work for me

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]