Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Electric Sieve

by ohsqueezy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide falling triangles into their slots using L/R without touching the electric rods. Static builds on every miss until the screen is invisible. Longer streaks bring higher scores!

---------

F11 - Fullscreen
L/R - Move
Down - Speed-up fall
Enter - Next screen

---------

This was made with Pygame on Linux, but it is also available for Windows. The source works on Linux and Mac if Python and Pygame are installed.

---------

My best score: 322

Scores, feedback, criticism, feature requests, reactions and comments are welcome!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#359Innovation3.36
#472Audio2.89
#709Fun2.85
#830Mood2.68
#830Overall2.90
#1028Humor1.65
#1085Graphics2.30
#1254Theme1.62

Comments

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

I cannot run your entry, because I don't know what program to run it with.

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

I'm going to submit an EXE version for Windows soon. Until then, you'll need both Python and Pygame to run the source code.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Somehow the audio was screwed up so I had to turn it off

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

By the way, I used this page to package my own game, after hours of rage trying to do it manually with py2exe : http://pygame.org/wiki/Pygame2exe

Hope it helps

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Ha, that is some quirky gameplay. I don't think I've ever seen anything like it. I was not as good at it as I expected to be, my high score is only 61.

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48am

anbreizh: Thanks, I'm close to getting py2exe working, but it's taking a while because I have to borrow a Windows computer.

Cosmologicon: 61 is a fine score from what I've seen but you can do better :)

If anybody else is having trouble with audio, can you post what is happening?

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:47pm

It's very original :)

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I like the mood, feels trippy thanks to the minimal graphics and vivid colors, but most of all because of the audio. Great job on that! Not really sure how it fits the theme, I guess maybe the triangles going beneath the surface of the sieve?

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Wow, this is a really excellent entry. At the end of the day you're just sorting triangles, but the audio style you used, the color schemes, the vaguely surreal image of the game fading into static all work together beautifully.

The only thing I'd say is that I was constantly confused by how the poles at the bottom would move if I pressed left or right. I'm not sure how to fix that, either, or if it's something other people would have trouble with--just thought I'd let you know. Great game!

(End score: 69)

01F0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I like it! The name is cool, it suits the overall feeling, so does the music. I get the same satisfying feeling when landing the triangles as when landing a 4-block piece in Tetris. It is very challenging, it will sure be hard to break your record. :)

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Only got a bit over 30 points after maybe 10 tries. And my eyes hurt. Did not enjoy that static sound either.

The gameplay was annoyingly difficult, letting the sieve move just a bit too far almost always meant failure, at least for me. The difficulty between the different triangle formations was also all over the place, because it felt like you lose the same amount of "health" no matter how many poles you hit.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

ohsqueezy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:27am

Most are mentioning the difficulty, so I plan on making a video to show how it can be overcome because I got 322, and it seems that breaking 100 for others is seemingly impossible.

javifugitivo: ^-^

meszka: Cool! That is the effect is has on me, too. You're right about the connection to the theme, but I didn't show yet how the triangles affect the area under the sieve.

Vector: Thank you! Somebody suggested I invert the controls, and they seemed to work better afterward. If I make an update, I'll work on adding more visual feedback. Good score!

01F0: Thanks! Honored to see the word Tetris!

Moosefly: Thanks for the candid feedback and sorry to hear it's annoying for you! I'll keep that in mind.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:18am

Nice idea! Its kind of like tetris with its effectiveness and replay ability! loved your intro screen too reminded me of an indie movie :)

Sanguine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:12pm

The static was really loud, but the concept is really cool! I'd love to see how it would work on a grid instead of free movement as it is now. The movement seemed inverted as well, but that might just be personal preference. Anyway, nice job!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:50pm

What a crazy and interesting game! I found the arrows counter to what I would expect in terms of movement on the screen. If you are going to work on a post-compo version, consider a "flip x" option or something. I really appreciate the concept of matching the holes to the falling triangles. Nice work :)

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Very original, almost bizarre. I enjoyed it!

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:39pm

neat concept. I didn't get very far but it was pretty cool. I'll definitely play it again :)

Cash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great gameplay and great art style,the static noise was a bit too loud but it's still a great entry

TheSheep says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I think I have the wrong font -- I see a lot of random non-ASCII characters on the screen.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:14am

Thank you everyone who left feedback!

TheSheep: That was a bug originally, but I decided to leave it in.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Not really sure how it fits in with the theme but it was an interesting concept

zorfmorf says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I had problems with the controls, they seemed counter intuitive (I always moved the "grid" into the wrong direction. Interesting concept though

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:25am

Pretty interesting. Almost had a seizure :D

May 8, 2014 @ 11:17am

I guess I won 83 yen? I like the static effect a lot! And I also like the idea behind the "matching" mechanic, but the way it worked wasn't optimal, since it would give very similar patterns.

Theme?

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:03am

This was pretty fun! I'm surprised you managed to make this game work, actually; the triangles always seem to just fit into the slots, and not once have I found myself blaming the game for giving me a "bad set" of triangles. So nice job on that!

The quirky music was certainly interesting...almost haunting, even. But it fit the mood of the game, strangely enough, and complimented the minimalist graphics quite nicely.

This game is a nice quick burst of fun. It's also darn hard (but in a good way)! Nice job!

Delca says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:37pm

The gameplay was intresting, but the static noise was way too much for my ears :-( Maybe because it sounds louder than the actual music?

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:59pm

The static noise is programmed to gradually increase from 0% to 60% volume. Maybe there's a bug causing the volume to go to 100% on some computers because it's not that loud for me. It's not meant to be loud, just static-y.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Neat concept and audio, but the flashing was very distracting. This could be a great game on android (with an option to disable the flashing). Take a look at pgs4a at pygame.renpy.org

ohsqueezy says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Awesome!! Gonna put this **** on my TELEPHONE!!

Tititesouris says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:38pm

The static noise is really too rough on the ears! D:
Otherwise I like the concept, very innovative. For next time try to replace the basic shapes with images, just a little more details to a game graphics makes it so much better.
Also, I myself made a python game using pygame, and I used the module cx_freeze to make an executable. Look it up for next time, not too complicated, you'll need a tutorial, and also, I've had trouble with the 3.4 version, so I just use the 3.3 until it's fixed.
Cheers!

kunzbe says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I like the background a lot. I think the noise is a bit too loud.

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:38am

This game is hard man! But that just made me want to keep playing.

caranha says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Hey, Cool game! Long live python! ^^ I really liked the level of challenge in this game.

I found it a bit hard to notice at the beginning that it were the poles in the bottom that moved, and not the triangles. Maybe make them a bit more noticeable?

Also, the static sound is really annoying :-) it make it easier to lose once you lost once or twice.

It would be interesting to see the current score, so that you know the value of your streak.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]